Ratings based on 808 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from shorewood, il

Nice hotel very well located.

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Relaxed atmosphere in a convenient location. It was also at a trolley stop which made it easy to get around town.
Cons: It might be nice to enhance the rooftop bar to make it more accommodating for weather
We enjoyed the wine and cheese as well as the cookies and milk in the evening. The continental breakfast in the morning was nice with the option of room service or the atrium and made up for the lack of a restaurant. However, the hotel was located so near multiple restaurants within walking distance that we never felt as lack of choices. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Thank you for a relaxing enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but a bit dull

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: Location and staff
This is a well run and located, fine hotel and we had an enjoyable stay. The hotel common areas used for coffee and wine are however windowless and dull making it feel more businesslike than vacationing oriented.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2016 by Drue Ford, AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and feedback that we will use to further improve our services. We hope you were able to enjoy our rooftop terrace and front lobby which offer have beautiful views of water front park and the Charleston harbor.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northern Virginia

Lovely and friendly!

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Definitely the staff; they're universally friendly and kind.
Cons: The "hot" water urn for tea needs to be plugged in, or something. I never found it when it was more than tepid!
Location: Directly across the street is a waterfront park. We wandered over to sit on gliders and admire the view - which was of pelicans and porpoises playing!
We stayed at the Harbour View Inn in November, 2016. It was a little tricky finding how to leave the car (just pull up to the curb where it says "No Parking"), but the entire crew of valets was so friendly and helpful I wanted to adopt them all as my sons. The front desk staff was equally happy to help, and outlined for us a simply dizzying array of restorative nibbles: hot tea and coffee pretty much always available; wine and cheese in the afternoon, milk and cookies (and M&Ms in a generous dispenser!) from 9 to 10 pm, a full breakfast bar in the morning for your sleepy perusal. In fact, the second day we stayed, we opted to forego the order-the-night-before breakfast to be delivered by staff to the room because it was easier to snag what we wanted when we wanted from the ample buffet in the lobby outside our door. The hotel room was large - the kind of large that people from the crowded northeast find hard to believe. The four-poster beds were deep and welcoming, with so many pillows that you can throw a few on the floor in the middle of the night and never miss them. The bathroom is large and attractive; it's got a too-small-to-soak bathtub, but it's hard to blame the hotel management for that; everything else is top notch. The only suggestion I have is that I wish they kept their urn of "hot" water actually hot. I'm a hot tea drinker, and you just can't brew a decent cup in lukewarm water.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2016 by Drue Ford, AGM, Hotel Management
We are delighted to read you descriptive review of your HarbourView Inn experience. I know the team appreciates your kind words and we hope to accommodate you again sometime. We hope all is well back home!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from missouri

Girls Trip

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: Location, helpful staff, comfort and cleanliness. Easy to find upon arrival.
Cons: Uncomfortable bed and pillows. Mattress was hard and pillows were flat
Location: Perfect to historical district and fabulous restaurants
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2016 by Drue Ford, AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review and feedback. Guest feedback is the most helpful in our efforts to constantly improve our services. We are glad you enjoyed HarbourView Inn's great location and clean accommodations. Come see us next time!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Relaxing experience!

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Hotel is in a beautiful location and the staff is wonderful!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2016 by Drue Ford, AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the 5 star review. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we are delighted you enjoyed our beautiful location and we appreciate your kind words. Come see us next time!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel close to water and close to downtown

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Staff was on point. Usually see this level at the Ritz. Room was very clean and updated. Morning breakfast was a nice treat too
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2016 by Drue Ford, AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your kind words with us and future travelers of Historic Charleston. Our team is most appreciative of your commendations. Come see us next time!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nashville

Great Service!

Posted Oct 9, 2016
1st class service, great location! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a quiet clean place with excellent service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2016 by Drue Ford, AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you for spreading the word of your 1st class experience! We hope to accommodate you during your next visit to Historic Charleston.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Hotel is in an excellent location. Nice to be near waterfront and within walking distance to all the major spots in downtown. Hotel amenities very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by Drue Ford, AGM, Hotel Management
We are delighted you enjoyed our excellent location and very nice amenities. We are lucky to have such a great location in Historic Charleston and it is important to add value with our amenities and services. We hope to accommodate you during your next trip.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dallas

Great stay

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Everything. Very courteous
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to everything. All the resturants and the market
Close to everything. Continental breakfast in room was great. Afternoon wine and cheese then cookies at night
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Tom and Susan, thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope you will come back to visit again very soon! Thank you for choosing the HarbourView Inn for you trip to Charleston. Sincerely, Chris Harvey General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Experience could have been much improved

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Response to maintenance requests; perfumed smell in lobby; ensure rooms are ready for occupancy prior to guests arriving
Have stayed at the Harbourview Inn quite a few times over the years. This trip was the most disappointing. While downtown location is great, the stay was only average. Room was right off of atrium area which is very busy (somewhat noisy on 1st floor). Arrival to room had debris left in bathroom that made us wonder about the freshness of the room. This was followed this trip with an issue with the shower/tub area took 3 requests and never was really fixed; no water pressure whatsoever in the bathroom sink; maid service the first day never came until after 4PM (and this was after a second request to make sure someone was coming and not desired while present; strong perfumed smell in the lobby and hallway areas (thankfully not in room) was really overbearing and would limit your time in this common area if you were sensitive to strong perfumed smells; ...and even the safe in room wouldn't work and required maintenance. Lastly, rude reception one evening from turn-down service one was the last straw. Not the norm for this hotel (and they did finally fix most issues - but there were way too many). This time I booked through Expedia for my business stay (staff booked through site rather than direct) and it seemed to lessen the attention to detail normally experienced as it was a definite difference in the front desk for the Expedia booked rooms than the direct at greeting. Too many good downtown hotels in this area to be aggravated -- I'd try another and will next trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear tlc, thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am very sorry that you experienced so many issues during your visit at our hotel. All of these are within our control and you should not have had to deal with any of this, especially the service related items. I will be following up with the team members involved to insure these issues do not persist. I sincerely appreciate the feedback and hope we will have an opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future. Yours Truly, Chris Harvey, General Manager