Ratings based on 255 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

No extras, unchanged sheets

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, clean, excellent breakfast.
Cons: Update furnishings, pay attention to customer complaints.
Staff was friendly, breakfast very nice, hotel and room clean. However, mattress and furnishings in bad need of updating. Bedspread and couch cover were torn. Worst of all, the sheets had been turned top to bottom and over to hide what appeared to be blood stains from a small cut. When turning back bed at 10:30PM we saw they were wrinkled where someone had slept. So we looked further and at the foot area saw the blood stains and that the sheet was turned over to hide it. Also, the shower curtain was mildewed and sour smelling, torn at both ends to where you almost fell on it. Made the front desk clerk aware of problems even handing her a note with room number and problems. Sheets got changed but shower curtain ignored. No extra blanket, had to sleep under heavy comforter.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

left ...with no checkout

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Cons: NEEDS A MAKEOVER
checkout "person" ...was just a gate keeper ...!!! did not know how to run any machines ... NOT A HEATED POOL ...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Savannah, GA

I wish we had stayed elsewhere

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Nothing really. I wish we had something pleasant to say about our stay there.
Cons: Close it down and rebuild elsewhere.
Location: Other than the dangerous location and access mentioned earlier, it was convenient to the places we had to go to.
The hotel is placed in a location where it's exceedingly dangerous to get into and out of because of the traffic and not very well marked, making it even more difficult to find the entrance once the sun goes down. The design of the building, long and narrow, makes for a room design that is also narrow; these make you feel as if you're walking into a hallway rather than a hotel room. Rooms were passably clean (not as good as comparably priced hotels we've stayed at in the same area) but the windows were so filthy, you could barely see outside. There was only a single elevator, centrally located in the hotel, resulting in significant delay times for guests with medical conditions that prevent their usage of stairways. The parking area was inadequate in size and number of spaces. made even more so by numerous commercial trucks and trailers parked across multiple spots. Lighting in the parking lot was sparse, causing concern about vehicle and personal security. We were not satisfied with the location, layout, staff friendliness, parking, vending machine access/choices, or breakfast variety and condition. In short, it was a very disappointing stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 19, 2016
i stayed 3 nights ,they never cleaned my room ,i had to go to the front desk for clean towels,staff very on friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Not clean. Bath toub was not draining. Shower head non functional...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b north carolina

Good location 6.miles from Charleston.

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Great location. Wonderful breakfast. Breakfast meat was different every morning. That was nice. The sofa bed in the lining room was nice we didn't use it but there was so much furniture in the room not sure how one could have opened it. Not a bad thing just interesting.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2016
The room and hotel was dirty and disgusting would not recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 3, 2016
We had never stayed at a. Hawthorne hotel before. We were impressed by the size and what all our room had to offer. The breakfast was nice and the staff were all very nice and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenville, United States of America

2 night stay--ZERO housekeeping

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: This hotel was close to everything my wife and I were in Charleston for. I also is within 15 minutes of downtown and excellent cuisine.
Rated room cleanliness 0.5 because of housekeeping. Rated staff at Zero because they offered no recompense for the failures of housekeeping. Other than that the staff was excellent. Friendly, attentive, and showed a willingness to help. They even called us within a half an hour of checking out that we had forgotten our medications!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

late check in for only one night.

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: clean
Cons: cant thing of anything
Location: close to downtown, on 17.
one night stay. big rooms. worked great for us. clean and had free breakfast.