Ratings based on 1,057 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Pool area

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Really glad to see pool and patio area remodeled The hotel was in a great location. Love the apartment type rooms. House keeping need to give more attention to details. Pull out was full of crumbs and the room smelled like marijuana smoke.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dayton, OH

Dirty! Needs new management, great potential.

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Got in late with tired family and found suite to be filthy (it had been picked up and beds made, but far from thoroughly cleaned​). I've seen cleaner bathrooms at a gas station. Requested another room, but it was shown to be almost as dirty. Proper cleaning had not been done in some time. Bathrooms had leftover unine and fecal matter on toilet and floor. Tables and counters had sticky surfaces. Floors/stairs had not been vacuumed and/or mopped. My daughter's bare ​feet turned black within first five minutes. Curtains were all wrinkled. Bedding at least appeared to be clean, but who knows! We were desperate for sleep and it was too late (2am) to find another hotel for our first night in Charleston, but we got out early the next day and ended up having a beautiful remaining stay at the Springhill Suites close by. Manager at Hawthorne was not available and never did directly call us back or visit the room despite repeated requests. The original staff member that checked us in did try to help, came and saw the problems first hand and showed me another room (not much better). Neighbors had similar complaints. It's a real shame the property is poorly managed, as it has great potential to be a beautiful stay. Suites would be very nice if simply cleaned properly!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington Dc

Needs updating and a good cleaning

Posted Jun 8, 2017
We ended up leaving a day early because a huge cockroach crawled across the bed. A The ceiling was falling in in the shower because when you turn it on the pipe sprays the ceiling.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

DO NOT STAY HERE

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Terrible. I had to leave early and they wouldn't give back the money for the rest of the stay. Also they wiped my bank account clean and called it "incidentals" DO NOT STAY HERE. When I asked to speak to a manager multiple times they said he's not available. Guess they don't have one.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ladson sc

Hotel from,hell

Posted Jun 3, 2017
After my first room had a dirty bed and mopd in the grout, my second room had a leaky sink that half black mold and a dish washer that smelled worse than low tide.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Terrible Hotel

Posted May 31, 2017
Nasty where pimps, hookers and drug dealers not a only stayed there but worked in front of the hotel selling the drugs and hookers. The room was full of roaches and bedbugs. The TV And air conditioning did not work and carpet wet and moldy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Great room but maybe bring cleaning supplies

Posted May 30, 2017
I was very pleased with my stay, overall. The room is one of the nicest I've stayed in for this price range. The staff was friendly and professional. Everything looked to be well kept and cleaned. However, upon further inspection, the room was not nearly as clean as I first thought. After 2-3 hours walking around barefoot, the bottoms of my feet turned black. Turns out they do not mop their floors. I purchased a dry/wet mop on my second day and was able to get it mostly clean by the 15th cloth. (Housekeeping didn't vacuum either). There was sand in the bathtub, stains on the sheets and towels, and the peephole was broken. There were a few bugs (I have been informed by everyone I know that it's to be expected and no amount of cleanliness will get rid of them but after cleaning the room myself the number was significantly lowered). You HAVE to have a parking pass from the front desk. They make sure you know when you check in but don't forget to leave it on your dash! There is a sheet posted to your fridge listing what they will charge you if it's missing when you check out. They also have a zero tolerance part policy. No parties of any kind are allowed for any reason. You are allowed one complaint but will be asked to leave upon a second complaint. There are numerous ways you can lose your deposit so ensure you are completely familiar with their policies. Even with all of that, I will more than likely be staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Nice

Posted May 29, 2017
Overall the stay was pleasant. We checked in around 9 or 10 that evening. The clerk was on the phone when I came to check in. After standing there for a few moments she finally paused her conversation and looked at me as if to say what do you need. I told her I needed to check in. She finally said to me what's your name I told her, she clicked some buttons and handed me a key. She did not explain to me where my room was located she just said it's going to be on the backside. We finally found it and went inside. The room was very nice nothing was out of place or disorderly. The only drawbacks were a little grape jelly on a clean dish in the kitchen, the bath fixtures in the bathtub were not flushed to the tile, and the pillows were terrible! They had no kind of fluff or softness to them, they were just pillow cases on nothing. But overall the hotel was very nice no incidents nothing out of the ordinary. I will definitely stay here again, it was very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from charleston,sc

Great experience

Posted May 15, 2017
It was a great location and the staff was very nice. The rooms were comfortable with lots of space and a great kitchen. Will definitely be back soon
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Kaycee, Thank you so much for your review. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2017
Wonderful stay! Comfy bed and room was clean. I would definitely try it out again as well as tell others to do the same.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Jeanette, Thank you for your review of Hawthorn Suites here in North Charleston, SC. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay. The staff is very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future! Sincerely, General Manager