Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Good Location.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Cons: There is a slight musty smell from the corridors and the bathroom could have been a little cleaner.
Overall me and my husband had a satisfying experience even though it was a last minute booking. The hotel is at a good location, very near the Sullivan Island Beach as well as the Isle of Palm beach. Good restaurant was all within driving distance and it was easy to go to downtown Charleston. There is a slight musty smell from the corridors and the bathroom could have been a little cleaner. But it was fine for me and my husband to have a comfortable stay overall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Raja, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so glad that you and your husband enjoyed your stay overall. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: Hotel was located near the event we were attending.
Cons: Our stay was good.
Location: Enjoyed Red's place to eat. Had wedding to attend so we didn't have time to see much.
We had a wedding to attend and this hotel was close to the event. It was clean and very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us! It was great to read that our location was convenient for you and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Let Down by Housekeeping

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: Location and front desk staff.
Cons: Housekeeping! The bathroom was dirty and security was compromised on day 2.
Location: Very close to Charleston downtown and all the history and good shops. Lots to do in Charleston - a lovely city.
The hotel furniture and fittings were a bit tired, but the rooms were comfortable and the front desk staff cheerful and helpful. However, the whole stay was spoiled by poor housekeeping - the bathroom had not been cleaned and the toilet was dirty. On the second day, housekeeping forgot to lock the room door - luckily, nothing was stolen. It was a great pity, as the location was very good and the front desk staff deserved much better support.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear lain, We appreciate you staying with us. We are so delighted that you liked our location and the service you received from the front desk staff. The issues you had with housekeeping will be addressed immediately, and we thoroughly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced due to poor housekeeping service. We do hope you will stay with us again. Thank you for your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Convenient location to the things that we wanted to do. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Very clean hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for the feedback. It was great to read that you found the team here to be friendly and helpful and your accommodations to be clean. We strive really hard to provide that type of service to our guests. We look forward to serving your needs again, hopefully in the near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I did not receive the room that I booked..

Posted Feb 23, 2016
I did not receive the room that I booked. When I called the receptionist to address the issue no more room was available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I do regret to read that you feel you did not receive the room you reserved. I do apologize for that inconvenience. I do hope you will consider staying with us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Nice hotel, close to Charleston if you have a car.

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Pros: Plenty of parking.
Cons: Seemed to be in need of some repairs. Some lobby furniture a bit shabby as well.
Location: Was disappointed that it wasn't in walking distance of a coffee shop. It seemed local restaurants were a bit of a hike across a busy roadway.
No issues. I was in and out without problems. Quiet stay. Main issue was that I didn't want hotel resto food. Had to drive intown and pay premium parking prices to get local flavor. Would have preferred to be in safe walking distance to local-type restos. Instead, restos were across busy causeway. Not their fault, layout of suburbs can fall a bit flat in this way.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Professor, We appreciate your feedback. We apologize that our location didn't completely suit your needs. We are glad that you had a quiet stay. We hope you had a wonderful dinner at the restaurant you chose. It is our hopes that you will stay with us again and try the delicious food in our restaurant. Thank you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Myrtle Beach, SC

Convenient location, close to popular area

Posted Dec 19, 2015
Pros: Location was perfect for where we needed to be.
Cons: My only complaint would be the lack of a fridge in the room.
Location: Very convenient to Charleston and many activities and restaurants in Mt. Pleasant
We stayed two nights and everything was comfortable, clean and bedding and linen were above average quality for most hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Judi H, Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for your feedback. It was great to read that you were satisfied with your accommodations and our location. We hope to have you as our guest again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lackluster setting.

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Very noisy soccer convention disruptive. Breakfast not included. Coffee availability was marginal. Needed a car for absolutely everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear joanne, Thank you for writing a review. I can't apologize enough for your being disturbed by the soccer group that was in house during your stay. I do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Maybe next time you can take advantage of some the rate packages that include breakfast. Thank you again for your feedback.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Hotel room was not clean. Hotel was very noisy at 2:30am. Last time at a Holiday Inn. Never again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We appreciate the feedback. I want to apologize for the lack of cleanliness and the noise level you experienced while staying with us. I am not sure if you reported either issues while here, but we do not want our guests to leave dissatisfied. We certainly do not want you to give up on the brand due to this experience. I apologize again, and do hope you will reconsider staying at our brand of hotels again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Disappointed

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: They need to put refrigerators and microwaves in the rooms.
Location: Convenient to Charleston and the airport. We were only 10 minutes from Patriot's Point. There is something for everyone in Charleston.
The front desk staff at check in seemed more interesting in flirting with bar patrons that came out to speak with her rather than guests waiting to check in. One of the comforters had some sort of small stain that looked like dried blood. The room was not as clean as I would have liked. The room was not made up on the first day of our stay. It was made up every day after that. We had the breakfast buffet one morning. It is the same breakfast I likely would have had at the Holiday Inn Express around the corner and it would have been at no charge. Certainly not worth the $10.95 price tag. The hotel was close to Charleston and the airport which was a bonus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 12, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Lisa, Thank you for your feedback. I do want to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while staying with us. The lack of professionalism at the front desk and the disconnect in housekeeping service will be addressed. I am glad to see that you benefited from our convenient location. Thank you again for your time.