Ratings based on 1,099 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Buyer Bewarw

Posted Apr 14, 2017
This hotel is surrounded by construction on al sides to the point that you can't even find the entrance. Cranes are literally hanging over the pool area with crews working 20 feet away. All rooms are exposed to construction view, work starts at 6:30am every morning. 2 hours on the phone after check-in with Ann from Expedia who proceeded to tell me the hotel manager named Tyler wouldn't let us off the hook for the stay, I found Tyler myself and he said, "I told her 2 hours ago that you guys could leave and we won't charge you". Needless to say the staff on site was awesome and they moved us themselves to a much better hotel at no charge. Tyler was the amazing and saved our stay in Charleston. I basically him up with Expedia and Holiday Inn was much more accommodating. This experience was such an eye opener for me regarding future travel bookings via Expedia.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but too much construction.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Nice staff and reasonable rate. Construction going on near hotel that kept us up all night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay away from this hotel for a while

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Front desk staff were courteous.
Cons: Breakfast can be improved, more variety needed.
Location: A little far from the historic district, we didn't have a car, so we used Uber/Lyft a lot. Historic district and the plantation visits are a must.
There is construction next to the hotel and the noise starts at 6:30 am! On top of that, road construction goes on at night. So noisy, even the ear plugs don't help. Front desk tried to help after we complained, they said they called the police regarding the noise ordinance. Still heavy machinery was at work until at least 11 pm. Switching rooms wouldn't help since the noise comes from both sides. I guess these are beyond what the hotel can do, next time I book a hotel I will ask about construction nearby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington, va

Construction Alert

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Convenient. Free breakfast. Friendly. Family hotel.
Cons: Given the construction, not much. On site lunch and dinner options would be nice. Plus bar.
Location: Hotel recommended Salty Mikes/Marina restaurant about 1 mi. away. Great food, staff and price. Everything else was a short to were the action was.
There is road and building construction next to the hotel. The HI website alerts you. The sound is very bad and can go all night. The extreme noise stops at 11pm by law but construction continues. The constant cycling of the a/c was annoying too. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was decent. Charleston was packed with spring break guests. They were not bad, but limited hotel options near downtown. Price was high driven by spring break.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Deceiving quality and location of hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Cons: Quality of room
Beds were not properly situated on the bed frame, leaving frame exposed and hazard for leg injury and mattresses unstable. With in walking distance to downtown Charleston was false statement. Left the hotel after one night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from .

Not Clean

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Thorough cleaning and better customer service
Location: .
The room smelled terrible and there was a cricket infestation. Upon telling the staff discreetly, an assistant manager promised 25% off of my prepaid room, but I would have to call it in since it was prepaid. Once called in, the hotel manager didn't see any notations and after much going back and forth, finally refunded less than half of the 25%.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2017
There is construction next door causing confusion regarding entry to the hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was nice with lots of options.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Crappy location

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Not easy to get to free shuttle, surrounded by construction. -/------------------------ No more to add ! @@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@"@""@@@@@@@@&@&&&@@&&&@&&&&&&&&&&
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too much Early morning construction....

Posted Feb 26, 2017
6 AM every morning heavy construction noises......Great staff....5 Stars......Breakfast was very good also.....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Myrtle Beach, SC

Holiday Inn Express, Ashley River Charleston.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Staff members were quite courteous.
Cons: The hotel looked tired on the inside. No doubt due to heavy traffic and useage.
Location: Not far by auto to the center of town. Not possible on foot though due to the very high traffic volume in front of the hotel.
Upon arrival access to the hotel and parking quite restricted due to very heavy construction right next to hotel. Heavy machinery in operation that could be heard inside the hotel. Parking was nearby in adjacent unpaved lots requiring a short hike to the hotel lobby which was uphill.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Greg DiFederico, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review. We are happyr ot hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We offer our apologies for any inconvenience the nearby construction site may have caused. We look forward to your next visit and once again thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express.