Ratings based on 1,044 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from charlotte

Just ok hotel near downtown Charleston.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Undergoing construction so parking is difficult. No small fridge in room, obnoxious "neighbor " room next to us very loud music after 10 pm that you can hear all the way down the hallway. Called front desk, it took three times to get an answers. Was told that they would send someone to check. It took over 1/2 hr and a trip down to the front deck before they got someone to tell them to turn the music off . No apologies given.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Greg DiFederico, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience at our hotel. We offer our most sincere apologies for the issues you faced during your stay. We hope that you will offer us another opportunity to serve you better in the future. Thank you again for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016
The elevators didnt work. Dog friendly hotel & staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Tyler, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We appreciate you choosing to stay with us. We apologize deeply for the issues you encountered as it was difficult for all without elevators. We hope you will be back in the future. Best regards,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Hard to find parking

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Not close to restaurants!! Not easy to find parking. Nice to have a breakfast included!!! Breakfast stuff not nice at all. Room is too old not really clean. Check in and check out the stuff was nice .
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by Tyler, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guests, We thank you for your recent stay and review. We have parking right next to the hotel with two overflow lots next door. We hope you will return to stay with us in the future. Best regards, HIE Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newport, VT

Not at all worth it

Posted Nov 21, 2016
On a recent road trip we had planned to spend 3 days in Charleston (our first visit). When selecting this hotel, we were expecting it to be above average based on the description and the cost. Were we in for a shock. The room was cramped, the carpet stained, and there was mildew in the stall shower. In general, the place seemed run down - worn carpets, dated interior decorations. Oh, and don't be fooled by pictures with views of the harbor. The hotel is situated so that the views are of a McDonald's parking lot or a large construction site. The hotel is reasonably close to downtown (about 8 - 10 minutes drive), but coming and going was challenging due to all of the construction. The staff was friendly but unfortunately we cannot recommend this hotel. Next time we will pay the extra $$ to stay in a more comfortable hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2016 by Tyler, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We thank you for your stay and feedback regarding your experience with us. We apologize for any and all issues you encountered. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and for your review. Best regards, Tyler Dockery
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not Good

Posted Nov 21, 2016
I would not recommend this hotel Pros: 1. Proximity to downtown Charleston 2. Pretty good breakfast Cons: 1. We got to the hotel around 2 AM and had to wait at the front desk for around 15 minutes to be helped. We also found out they almost gave our room away because we were late (even though we called that day and they told us that it was fine we were coming late). 2. We stayed on the first floor and the room smelled like it was damp. The smell did not go away during our whole stay. 3. Our shower ran out of hot water after a couple minutes. 4. Construction woke us up every morning around 8 AM right outside our window (they are making a Publix) 5. Parking was horrible, everyone staying at the hotel needed to park far away 6. Did not get house cleaning in our room everyday and when it was done, it was not thorough
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Greg DiFederico, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry to hear of the issues you faced during your stay. We apologize for the surrounding construction. We hope that you will give us an opportunity to serve you better in the future. Please feel free to reach out to me directly if you would like to discuss your experience in more detail. Thank you again for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Convenient

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Bed
Cons: Construction so close
Location: Not a factor
Clean. Great bed. Good breakfast got to talk a lot in this section
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2016 by Greg DiFederico, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We take great pride in delivering an exceptional guest stay. We look forward to your next visit to our city and once again that you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Expres.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Petersburg, Stati Uniti d'America

Great location. Minutes from downtown

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Courteous staff, very clean room and very comfortable bed!
Cons: The lack of parking due to the construction of a new parking lot and garage. This is temporary, but will surely be for several more months.
Location: Very close to the Citadel and the Medical University of South Carolina. Very close to downtown - just a couple minutes by car. Walk to Hominy!
This hotel is in the middle of a renovation. The interior appears complete. Outside, there is a big project taking place with the construction of a parking garage and elevated pedestrian walkway to the Ashley River. This will be a great addition. Our room overlooked the construction site, but surprisingly, the thick windows muted the din of the construction. Great complimentary breakfast. Everything was fresh and tasty. Great biscuits! The gym has been renovated and contains primarily cardio machines - treadmills, an elliptical, bicycle and rowing machine - all in great condition. There is a set of dumbbells up to 35 lbs. and mats for floor work. There is room for more equipment and I hope the hotel staff reads this review and adds at least a universal machine and leg press. There is also an outdoor pool. The staff is wonderful. Our room had two queen beds with very comfortable mattresses. It contained a flat screen TV, a good sized mini-fridge, keurig coffee machine as well as a safe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2016 by Greg DiFederico, Hotel Management
Thank you for you recent review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our location. We strive to provide all our guest with a great stay that creates a positive lasting impression. We are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast and that your room was clean and comfortable during your stay. We look forward to accommodating any of your future lodging needs and once again thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from st louis

The property next to the hotel is under construct.

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: Good location. Once construction is done it will be much better
Rooms were clean. Offered small refrigerator and microwave. Very good for business people
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2016 by Greg DiFederico, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We utilize this to ensure we are constantly improving our guests stays. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We apologize for the surrounding construction but we are happy to hear it did not affect your overall experience. We look forward to meeting any of your future lodging needs and once again thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Typische Amerikanisches Hotel mit kleinem Pool

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Da alles mit dem Bus gut zu erreichen war, konnten wir das Auto geparkt lassen, was uns sehr gut gefallen hat
Wir waren nur 2 Nächte in dem Hotel, sehr sauber und auch sehr freundliches Personal, der Pool hat uns sehr gut getan zum Erfrischen
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by Gregory DiFederico, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our location. We take pride in being able to deliver exceptional customer service. We look forward to meeting any of your future lodging needs and once again thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Waren leider nur 2 Tage in Charleston

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Man konnte das Auto stehen lassen und mit den öffentlichen Bussen überall hin
Auf unserer Rundreise waren wir 2 Nächte in dem Hotel, die Zimmer waren sehr groß und auch das Personal sehr freundlich
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by Gregory DiFederico, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide clean and comfortable rooms for all our guests. We look forward to meeting any of your future lodging needs and once again thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express.