Ratings based on 978 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: The staff are very helpful and pleasant.
Cons: large puddles of water in the pet area attract mosquitos.
The room was not clean, the beds are not at all comfortable and the air conditioner was so noisy that sleep was impossible.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome!

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Awesome stay after getting off the cruise ship and being in a wreck an 1hr off. THANKS
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Close enough to historic district.

Posted Jul 6, 2016
No complaints. Good breakfast spread. HiThe tides flood the parking lot though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2016 by Tyler, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We thank you for your stay and review. We are pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and hope you will be back. Best regards, Staff & Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very disappointing hotel stay!

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: The bed was comfortable.
Cons: I think this hotel needs lots of updates.
Location: You definitely need a car when staying here.
We were pretty disappointed with this hotel overall. I'll start with a few positives. We arrived early and were able to check in, parking and breakfast were free and we received free toothpaste when we ran out. Now for the not so positives. The location wasn't the best bc we had to drive to get to everything we wanted to do. There's a vacant lot next to the hotel that was littered with trash. There were several loud guests staying at the hotel, including the guests in the room next to us who decided to start beating each other up at 11:30pm our second night there. We also had a very loud air conditioning unit, and the phone and iron didn't work. We had to move rooms because of the noisy air conditioning unit. The manager finally agreed to compensate us by refunding a portion of our stay, so that was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2016 by Tyler, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, We thank you and apologize you encountered a few issues during your stay. We fully refunded 3 of your nights for the issues and agreed that was more than fair when discussing the issues. We do hope you will consider retunrning to stay with us most of the issues encountered were caused by outlying factors aside from the ac which we have resolved. Best regards, Staff & Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

Iffy neighborhood

Posted Jun 5, 2016
The hotel itself was fine but the neighborhood was deteriorating and there was nowhere to walk to to eat except McDonalds. For the money, I would stay somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2016 by Tyler, Hotel Management
Dear Nancy, Thank you for staying with us while in Charleston. We do hope you will come back and stay with us again. Best regards, Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from switzerland

convenient hotel

Posted May 15, 2016
Pros: it was possible to open the windows
Location: Charleston is a nice place
was ok for a coupe of days in Charleston, breakfast was ok, room clean
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2016 by Tyler, Hotel Management
Dear gabriela, We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your stay in Charleston. We are pleased you found the hotel convenient to your needs and hope you will be back soon. Best regards, Staff & Management
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

A Week in Charleston

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: The variety of pillows and labeled as such.
Cons: The room was a bit dark on one side. Beach towels and/or chairs available to guests. The water was SO HOT it would burn skin if not aware.
Location: Right on route 17 with easy access to West Ashley (towards all the plantations) and Mount Pleasant, which includes Patriot Point and the USS Yorktown.
We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express – Ashley River for six days in April. I was originally worried about it's location when booking as it's not quite walkable to the downtown area. However, it turned out to be perfectly located, as we visited several plantations and other attractions outside the city limits and it was on a main route to all. ALL of the staff we had contact with were excellent!!! The room was spacious and clean. There is a full hot breakfast buffet with items for everyone ranging from biscuits & gravy to skim milk with special K. It seemed there were very interested in giving healthy options. And there was always fruit to nibble on like apples, oranges and bananas. The parking was a bit sparse. But the next time we visit, we will definitely be staying here!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2016 by Tyler, Hotel Management
Dear Jill, We wanted to take a moment to thank you for your stay and for all of your comments and feedback. Your feedback regarding your experience with us is highly valued and we will be looking for you to be back again in the future. Best regards, Staff & Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mt Pleasant, sc

as expected

Posted May 1, 2016
We stayed a single night and found that the hotel was appropriate for a 3 star. Unfortunately the price paid was way too high for what we got. If the price were appropriate for the hotel, I would recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2016 by Tyler, Hotel Management
Dear HollyKat, We thank you for your stay and your feedback in your review. The Spring and Fall Seasons are a very popular and busy time for Charleston which may have an impact on the rate you paid for your stay. Compared to other hotels in Charleston, we offer amenities and services they do not, such as Free Parking and Free Hot Breakfast. We hope you will decide to stay with us again should you return to the area. Best regards, Staff & Management
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TN

Comfortable stay

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Overall this was a great place to stay for the price and we have no complaints about the room or staff. They gave offered an upgrade to a double queen room from a single king that we accepted only because the king room has no fridge. Parking here was just OK because the lot got very full in the evenings meaning we had to drive through the whole area to find an open spot. The location was acceptable with quick and easy access to downtown. Vending machines are pricey, 2 bucks for a bottled drink so maybe bring drinks from somewhere if you want them in the room. We would stay here again just because it was a great value.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2016 by Tyler, Hotel Management
Dear Cody, We wanted to thank you for sharing your experience of your comfortable stay while staying with us in Charleston. Your comments are appreciated and we hope you will be back again as you stated the great value Best regards, Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

wont recommend

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Pros: free breakfast
Cons: communication
Location: Right off highway---McDonalds, Taco bell, Hardees,,,,thats the things to do nearby!!!
This hotel is out further from downtown than expected, but since I'm a walker(cardio) it was ok for me, but most people will need a car to get anywhere.The hotel itself is O.K. and staff good, however the fire alarm went off around mid-nite, and hotel evacuated. Thank God, false alarm. However not any kind of apology from hotel, note under door, message on phone, nothing. An apology goes a long way, and this hotel failed miserably!!!! Will not stay again, or recommend to anyone!!!! Bad move Holiday Inn!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2016 by Tyler, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, We thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your feedback. We are genuinely sorry that someone foolish and carelessly pulled the fire alarm. We were trying to make ourselves present and visible the following morning to apologize in person opposed to an impersonal note or letter. Either way, we are sorry and hope you will return to stay with us again in the future. Best regards, Management