Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oak Hill WV

quiet room

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: close to everything
Cons: Everything was above expectation
Location: Easy on and off I64. Close to capital and shopping
Stayed the weekend to celebrate our eleven year anniversary. Nice quiet room. Really liked the sitting area. Was every comfortable. Close to all we wanted to see in Charleston.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by Patrice.Lutz@interstatehotels.com, Hotel Management
Dear Scotty, Happy Anniversary! Thank you for staying with us on your special day! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were a convenient location for all you needed to do in Charleston. We hope you to see you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lima, Ohio

Excellent accomodations

Posted Nov 15, 2016
2 families stayed in rooms on a Sunday night. We enjoyed swimming, breakfast, and the restraunts within the same parking lot. Staff were kind and helpful. Loved the huge rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by Patrice, Hotel Management
Dear Lori, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express-Charleston/Kanawha City. We are happy to hear that your family enjoyed the room accommodations and the amenities. We are lucky to have a few restaurant in our immediate area for our guests to enjoy. We hope to see you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pa

Nice and relaxing

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Very helpful front desk person enjoyed the pool good one night I thought it was a little pricey
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2016
This hotel is clearly an older establishment with dated and worn interior and fixtures. Bed was comfortable, bedding was clean but oddly presented, no extras of anything. An adequate place to stop for an overnight stay but priced as a higher level facility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2016 by Patrice L., Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services and accommodations. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uniontown ohio

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Great place to stay. Very clean and comfortable room . Will stay here again when visiting the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: The beds were awesome!
Cons: The bathrooms are very small - not much room to move. The toilet is so close to the door.
Location: There are many food options to choose from and the highway is easily accessible.
This hotel is very nice although a bit noisy due to the highway traffic from outside. Expedia made an error in telling us that this was a "pet friendly" hotel - which it was NOT - however they accommodated us and we greatly appreciated it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WV

Just right for Girls Weekend

Posted May 17, 2015
This is the third year my mother, my sister, and I have stayed at this hotel for our annual Girls Weekend getaway. We really enjoy this hotel. Nothing too frilly but the rooms are comfortable, the pool and hot tub are nice and it is convenient to all the area shopping spots! The staff are always courteous and helpful. Always a pleasant stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Loveland, CO

Clean modern room

Posted May 12, 2015
Clean comfortable and quiet. However we were never able to get the TV to come on. Did not contact the staff regarding the issue. They were exceptionally nice and I am sure they would have responded to the issue but I was too tired to even care.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greensboro, NC

Just okay

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Free wifi, generally clean, breakfast, pool
Cons: Noise problems
Location: Can't comment - we didn't stay long
On the positive side, this hotel offers free wifi and a decent buffet breakfast. The pool was clean and well maintained (which may be important if you have kids!) In terms of cons, my main complaint is the noise. The nearby highway is noisy - trucks throughout the night - so bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper. Also, there was an odd banging noise around 5 am when a neighboring guest took a shower - it went on and on. The bathroom had a fluorescent bulb that took a long time to warm up, which meant that the bathroom was pretty dark for several minutes after turning the light on. While I appreciate the effort to conserve energy, there are better bulbs available these days!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Travelling Hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2015
This is a comfortable, clean, and well located hotel for travelers. Its close to the highway and restaurants. It backs onto the highway so if some noise from the cars/trucks is an issue, get a room on the front of the building or stay somewhere else.