Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Disappointed

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Needs refurbished Had mold and rust stains in shower Tile floor chipped/looked unkept. Towels motel quality Bath ceiling cracked and peeling
Location: Lots of great restaurants close by.
Had expected the overall experience to be better given the price. In fairness the hotel staff and Innkeeper in particular were very friendly. Breakfast was ok but having it brought covered in cling film felt like room service rather than a real dining room experience. Room was perfectly clean but rather dull and in need of refurbishment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shreveport, LA

Great downtown, historic, convenient location

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Everything! The room itself we loved. The breakfasts were served at scheduled time, and the food was delicious. The location was excellent.
Cons: Directions to the parking lot need to be furnished to guests prior to checking-in. The parking lot behind the hotel is accessed by a one-way street.
Location: The hotel is within walking distance to numerous attractions. It is one block away from the Corner of Four Laws. It is near many good places to eat.
The house was wonderful! Our room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous. We absolutely loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CHICAGO

lovely b&b in the heart of the historic district

Posted Aug 12, 2014
MY FIRST TRIP TO CHARLESTON.EVERYTHING I EXPECTED.WONDERFUL HISTORIC B&B.STAYED OUT BACK IN THE CARRIAGE HOUSE.CHARMING!B-FAST EACH MORNING IN THE COURTYARD.FANTASTIC STAFF...MIKE,MICHAEL,CC,AND KATHLEEN MADE US FEEK SO AT HOME.HAD SOME FABULOUS MEALS,GREAT HARBOUR TOUR,AND SPOOKY GHOST TOUR.WALKED TO TOUR ALL THE FABULOUS HOMES AND JUST DRANK IN ALL THE HISTORY.YOU WONT BE DISAPOINTED! .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great mix of antiques and modern comfort

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: The inn was located in the center of Charleston. Our room was in a rear cottage which made the experience more historical.
Cons: The parlor sherry offerings could be presented a bit better. The decanters looked neglected.
The hotel was very centrally located and yet the room was quiet. The main house is an antique gem with elegant yet comfortable furnishings. The staff was courteous, not stuffy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great Place to Stay

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location, Price, Service.
Cons: Nothing, absolutely perfect.
The house is a real treat being fully restored from the time of the American Revolution. Minute walks to all the great sites or take a pedi-cab around downtown. The service and staff were 5 star. Breakfast every morning included with your stay and can be had in your room, the ballroom, or the outside patio. Afternoon iced tea with amazing appetizers. Also an evening night cap of port is included. It truly was sad when we had to say goodbye but we will definitely be staying here next time we are in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Very nice historic inn.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Everything, from our initial welcome to checkout was very well done. The room was spacious, updated and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Terri from St. Louis, MO

One of Charleston's Best!

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Our room was lovely, as was the Mansion itself, and eating breakfast outside in the Courtyard between the two cottages and the big house was special.
Cons: Nothing - it was perfect.
Location: The free trolley stop was only a short walk away, as well as several outstanding restaurants, the Old Exchange Provost/Dungeon.
We stayed 4 nights in an Ashley Cottage Room behind the historic Mansion while touring the city, nearby plantations, and Ft. Sumter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved our time in Charleston!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Everything. Breakfast...amazing. Rooms...amazing. Also, service is top notch (made reservations for me. Recommendations for what to do....)
Cons: nothing
Location: Right there in the middle of history. Great location!
We had a fantastic time visiting Charleston. I had my 15 and 18 year old daughters with me. We had unseasonably cool weather. We walked a lot. So much to see and do. I would recommend tours as they really enrich the visit. We did a walking tour through the historic district, a carriage tour, and a ghost tour. We loved having a hotel which was in the middle of it all so we could take a break and also feel like we were really experiencing Charleston. The John Rutledge Inn is amazing. My second stay here. The room was perfect. Everything was extremely clean and the daily cleanings were top notch. Very comfortable stay. Breakfast is a luxury. We ate in the courtyard on warmer day and in the ballroom on cool days. Amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hugh from Seattle

Great Location

Posted Jan 23, 2014
This Inn was right in the center of the historic district, an easy walk to many points of interest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Beth from Louisville, KY

Amazing Weekend Getaway!

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Pros: Breakfast was amazing! They provided a huge selection and it was always piping hot when perosnally delivered to our room. Our room was spacious, too
My husband and I were celebrating our 5th anniversary, and the staff at John Rutledge House Inn made sure it was absolutely perfect. Our room in the Ashley Carriage House was beautiful with every little detail thought out. The Inn is very central to everything in historic Charleston and a very short trip to/fron the airport. We loved spending time in the evening out on the balcony enjoying the scenery and elegance of Charleston!