Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Great service, made us feel very welcome. Would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Historic Home

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Receptionist was as genteel and graceful as the restoration and conversion of this home to a bed and breakfast. I saw no elevators in the main house, and felt fortunate to stay upstairs in one of two two-story carriage houses in the back. Being separated by the courtyard and home from traffic on Broad Street, and being only one of two rooms on the second floor, my room was remarkably quiet. The staff was large for such a small place, well trained gracious and efficient. Breakfast with many choices was served in the dining room, in one's room, or in the courtyard. I would stay here again, and again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nc

Great historical inn

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Great room, knowledgeable and courteous staff. Would love to stay longer next time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2016
The housekeeping staff is super friendly and does an amazing job. The entire hotel has a great staff. Wonderful place to stay, Great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paris & NY

Simply Perfect!

Posted Feb 18, 2016
The most beautiful room that made us feel like royalty; a great breakfast in bed; the nicest and most helpful staff; and Charleston!!!! A memorable stay. Already thinking of going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2015
great location. fantastic breakfast. large room and bath.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great location, very helpful staff, lovely room

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: everything
We had two days in Charleston and appreciated the staff all of whom were helpful and took time to determine what we were interested in doing among the very many options. Our walking tour with Ann Middleton was fabulous as were the restaurants located near the John Rutledge House. The carriage house on the grounds was lovely and just right for Charleston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from loveland oh

nice historic hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2014
we stayed 2 nights. breakfast at room was good for our need as my 2 year old daughter takes time to go out basically. very historic hotel. worthwile staying at least once you visit charleston.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Wonderful home-base for our first visit to beautiful Charleston!! The staff was friendly, competent, and very gracious. A shout out to concierges CC and Mike for their many helpful suggestions! We stayed in one of the carriage houses which was nice but I think the rugs need to be better cleaned or replaced. Everything else was great...breakfast each morning was outstanding. Thanks for a great visit!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

A great B and B experience.

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Everything, the staff could not have been anymore helpful or nice, and the inn is beautiful and well cared for.
Cons: Nothing, everything is perfect.
Location: Stroll the historic district of Charleston. Dine in top area restaurants such as McCrady's and Husk.
My wife and I came to the John Rutledge to experience a B and B and could not be happier. The staff was friendly, the inn is charming yet up to date with the wifi and electronics charging station in the room. No matter what time you wander in, you are greeted by someone with a warm smile.