Ratings based on 829 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

QUALITY, FRIENDLY,MOST CONVENIENT,FREE PARKING

Posted Dec 22, 2016
EVERYTHING IN WALKING DISTANCE....BEST OF THE BEST
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. Thank you for your positive review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Nice hotel close to main sites

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Hotel is in walking distance of main attractions; staff were professional, friendly and helpful; room was very comfortable.
Stayed for three days and found it to be an enjoyable stay. Room was well appointed and comfortable and the room staff did a good job cleaning each day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. Our staff is trained to provide clean and comfortable service to each of our guests, and we appreciate your recognition of their efforts.Thank you for your kind review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, Ohio

Ritzy for a great price!

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Cons: Free breakfast!
Location: South Battery, Aquarium, Museum, Folly Beach
My first time in Charleston, South Carolina! Upon entering King Charles Inn, I was very pleased with the site. My room decor was very nice and ritzy looking! Comfortable clean bed and great pillows! Young lady who initially checked me in with sorta frizzy blondish hair had exceptional customer service! Great city gives you a warm feeling!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are so glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your first visit to Charleston with the King Charles Inn. Our staff strives to provide superior service to each of our guests, and we appreciate your recognition of their work. Thank you for your very kind review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Much better than I expected

Posted Dec 17, 2016
I've stayed at several different hotels in Charleston. Most are expensive and I would say even overpriced. This hotel is well located and has pretty much everything other hotels offer but for an honest rate. I think the only thing needed is a refurb in the hallway to the rooms. Old carpet, outdated wallpaper, ceiling. That's a quick fix.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us as well as the value of the King Charles Inn. Thank you for your kind review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very good location to downtown Charleston.

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: location, parking was great, staff were most helpful and friendly.
Cons: Pillows were a bit flat (new ones are warranted)
Location: Within walking distance to main street shops and close to Market Square
Hotel was very nice and close to all amenities. However upon our departure we found a large cockroach type bug in the sheets. Unfortunately we did not advise the hotel, on second thought we should have and sought some type of compensation. Maybe you could forward this to them and they may fell obligated to compensate us in some way. It was a shame because the Hotel was really eclectic and would recommend for location and helpfulness of staff but I was a bit shocked that I shared my bed with Mr Cockaroach.....
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
On behalf of the entire staff, I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. Our staff strives to provide a clean and comfortable environment for each of our guests, and we have staff on hand from 7am til 11pm daily to assist with any housekeeping or maintenance inquiries. Cleanliness is among our highest priorities provided for our guests. Thank you for your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great downtown Location

Posted Dec 15, 2016
We stayed for a week . It was close to everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us! Thank you for your kind review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, free parking!

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Staff were amazing...very friendly and helpful. Beautiful historic hotel- great value!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. Thank you for your kind review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Cons: Celebratory bottle of champagne and chocolate strawberries were delivered day after it had been requested.
Great location and staff helpful in making recommendations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. Our staff strives to provide superior and personable service to each of our guests. Thank you for your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great cozy hotel.....good location

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Noisy hvac unit.....no fan in bathroom But my new favorite place to stay in Charleston
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. Thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to seeing you next time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect location

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Perfect location. Wonderful, helpful, friendly staff. Plenty of restaurants in walking distance, I just wish the hotel cafe was open more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2017 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. Thank you for your kind review.