Ratings based on 1,766 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wentville, mo

Great staff. Close to everything.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Clean and charming room. Great water pressure in the shower. Walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Would highly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. The King Charles Inn is located in the heart of the city's historic district; just steps away from numerous attractions, restaurants, and shopping. Thank you for your kind review.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cayman Islands

Great location and cute little hotel.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
We only spent one night but the staff were very accommodating and friendly and it was a great location for exploring Charleston. A little older inside but lovely and clean and I would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. Our staff strives to provide a comfortable and memorable stay for each of our guests so we thank you for recognizing their efforts. We appreciate your kind review.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Very nice small hotel that has all the amenities you could ask for as well as being in downtown Charleston. It is within walking distance to all the sites and as an added bonus has free parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. The King Charles Inn offers several amenities, and we are thrilled that you could take advantage of them. Thank you for your kind review.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las vegas nevada

Great location for downtown walking.

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Hotel staff was great. Enjoyed laughs with Richard, who tended bar in the lounge. Only complaint was matress was uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. Our staff strives to provide superior service to each of our guests, and we appreciate your recognition of them. Thank you for your feedback.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

nice hotel convenient location

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: location and amenities
Cons: We would have liked a microwave oven in the room.
Location: The location is at the north end of the downtown area which suited us fine. We liked to walk around the town heading south.
The hotel ammenities were good and the staff were helpful and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. The King Charles Inn is set in the heart of the city's historic district and is walking district to a number of historic attractions, shops, and restaurants. Thank you for your feedback.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

center of town

Posted Sep 7, 2016
This Hotel although great in price and decent location to downtown lacks amenities for the price they are charging per night , pool is small and not heated water was chilly over labor day , no hot tub , bar/restaurant was bar only no food except coffee and donuts in the morning so all in all its a room in a decent part of town not much else I say look around before you book
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
On behalf of the entire hotel, I apologize for not being able to exceed your expectations. The King Charles Inn advertises comfortable accommodations in the center of Charleston's historic district. Our breakfast restaurant offers hot breakfast options a la carte, and there are numerous restaurants surrounding the hotel that provide delicious lunches and dinners. We appreciate your feedback.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KY

Nice hotel close to Market Street

Posted Aug 26, 2016
We stayed only one night at The King Charles Inn. Check in was prompt and the room very clean and comfortable. Walking distance to anything you want to see. I will definitely stay there again !
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel is located in the heart of Charleston's historic district and is just steps from a number of attractions, shopping, and dining options. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel rightinthecenterofhistoriccharleson.

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Walk to all. Friendly staff. Rwould c recommend...................................................................
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. Thank you for your kind review.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, pool, fantastic staff

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Staff went out of their way to help us store bikes and were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Pool was a great plus for the kids. Loved the location right in the heart of downtown. Free parking was a bonus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. Our staff strives to provide a superior service to each of our guests, and we appreciate your recognition of their hard work. Thank you for your kind review.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect Location

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location! Also, clean and very friendly staff.
Cons: More excitement at the bar area.
Location: Right near historic areas and walking distance to Fort Sumter.
This hotel was centrally located and within walking distance to most of the places we desired to go. There is also a free trolley that runs through the town and a stop was located right across the street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are glad that you enjoyed the King Charles Inn's ideal location in the heart of Charleston's historic district. The hotel is located just steps from historic attractions, dining, shopping, and night life spots which is a pro all of our guests have the pleasure to enjoy. Thank you for your kind review.