Ratings based on 1,976 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Memphis

Hotel convenient to the attractions we liked

Posted May 26, 2017
The staff were outstanding. The room was very nice. We enjoyed our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A 2 star hotel at 4 star price.

Posted May 23, 2017
Considering we paid almost $400/night I had some expectations. I realize it's a smaller boutique hotel, but it was just a step above a comfort inn. Sheets were threadbare, o had to ask housekeeping to come vacuum, mold around the toilet. I was Steph disappointed. Don't know how it has so many positive reviews. The only thing this hotel has going for itself is location, that's it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was centrally located

Posted May 21, 2017
The staff was very accommodating. We arrived early so they told us to park our car (free parking included). They then sent me a text when the room was available. Every evening they had warm cookies and tea.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and staff, but wait a minute.

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: We liked the staff, the location and the free parking.
Cons: The bed should be moved to another wall away from the noisy air conditioner. Mold smell in shower in room 320 should be addressed.
We arrived at the King Charles Inn and were greeted by one of the staff, Johnnie. Johnnie was kind and very helpful. We found the front desk staff to be kind. We were assigned room 320. Unfortunately room 320 was right next to a vending machine and the ice machine. The noisy Air Conditioner in the room was right beside the bed. When we turned the shower on, there was a strong smell of mold. The location is very good and the free parking is hard to find in Historic Charleston. Otherwise we were not impressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Upstate New York

Better than expected, Exceptional + Professional

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Professional and very welcoming attitude. "Service was their priority"
Cons: No improvements needed
Location: The city is extremely safe and friendly. ALL merchants and staff were very accommodating. They take pride in their city.
Extremely a pleasant stay ( 7 days ), staff was exceptional, professional, friendly and caring. Example: first day it was raining; they provided umbrellas for the day, did not have to ask, staff offering themto us. Breakfast choices were priced right and delicious. Waitress "Paris" was very helpful and friendly. Jaret and Tom gave understandable directions to events, they provided prewritten and understandable. Highly recommend; we were celebrating our 50th Wedding Anniversary, all expectations were met.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jersey shore

Wonderful hotel

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Free parking. Pub. Clean rooms. Walkable historic and French quarter Charleston. Great staff.
Cons: Nothing. Perfect!
Location: Plenty of restaurants and bars. Marketplace shopping just 2 blocks away. Nice rooftop bar next door.
Wonderful hotel with free parking, walkable to all the fun spots in Charleston, outdoor pool, pub with terrace, nice rooms with large balconys and lovely staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Friendly, convenient hotel,very comfortable.

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and convenient location.
Location: Close to free shuttle and to walk to historical area.
We stayed 3 nights, felt at home, enjoyed pm snacks and breakfast outdoors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix, az

Nice hotel in historic district.

Posted May 4, 2017
Picked this hotel because of free parking. Very pretty and clean hotel. Nice seating areas. Small restaurant on site which was good plus they do a wine and cheese event in the late afternoon. Beds were comfortable. The view of the wall made me feel a little claustrophobic but I dealt with it. Best of all it is conveniently located so you can leave the car and walk to restaurants and City Market.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Posted May 3, 2017
Good location with a short walk around the city. Hotel staff was very nice & friendly. I slept very well at fhis hotel, and I was not woken up by any noises. The bed was very soft and comfortable. The linens on the pillows smelled a little old. Parking was free. Coffee was decent In the room, & they had complimentary bottles of water. Room could have been a little cleaner. There was a long hair on the bathroom floor, not sure how that was missed by cleaners. The table in the room was very dusty. Along the walls & vanity in bathroom, it was also dusty and needed a good wiping down. The water pressure was excellent in the shower. For an older building, the room stayed pretty cool to my liking. I paid $226.00 total through expedia. I think if you book through hotel directly it is a few dollars cheaper. For that amount of money, I would expect it to be cleaner, but I was too tired from traveling all day to say anything. I think they were completely booked anyways. I still think I would stay here again though, hopefully the dust/cleanliness in the room was a fluke. Or maybe if they sell out their rooms often, they need to get more housekeepers to accomate enough time to clean all the rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expected better

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Location, free parking, swimming pool and pub.
Cons: Improve the cleanliness of the rooms and update boxsprings once they have surpassed their lifetime.
Location: Right across the street from FIG (highly recommended if you can secure a reservation ahead of time) and very close to main drags of King St. and E Bay
We were excited about our stay at the King Charles Inn. It is in a great location with a lot of history and offers free parking. Unfortunately, we were disappointed by the amount of fruit flies in our room upon our arrival. We must have killed over 10 and continued to be surprised by more. Since we had just checked in, the flies were not there through no fault of our own. When we notified the front desk, they said there was not much they could do about it and offered to go look for spray that we could use in the corner of the room but then didn't return after we had been waiting for over 15 minutes. One of our queen beds was also extremely squeeky whenever it was sat/laid on and throughout the night as we slept.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Maureen, Hotel Management
On behalf of the entire staff of the King Charles Inn, I sincerely apologize for not exceeding your expectations. The comfort of our guests and the cleanliness of our rooms are among our highest priorities at this hotel, and this information is absolutely below the standards we have set. Our staff is available 24/7 and trained to assist guests with any inquiries that may come up during their stay. We thank you for your feedback so this can be used as training to ensure our staff is confident and able to provide guests with superior service.