Ratings based on 1,902 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Nice quaint hotel. Great location. Parking a plus. Very pleasant staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Best hotel for stay in Charlston

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, parking
Location: Fort Sumter by boat, Charlston Museum, Old Exchange Building
Excellent hotel with helpful staff, located in the historic quarter of Charlston. All the sights can be reached by walking. Free working WIFI, cheese and olives, tea and cookies, clean bathroom, everything you could wish for. And did I mention free parking? Very important in this city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Maureen, Hotel Management
It is a pleasure to learn that you so thoroughly enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. The King Charles Inn is proud to provide numerous complimentary amenities from cheese, olives, and fruit during our manager's reception, to daily replenished bottled water, to wi-fi and guaranteed parking. Thank you for your kind review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee WI

Good location for walking about Charleston

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Parking and convenient location.
Cons: Maintenance on shower floor, new pillows, HVAC noise.
Location: All of downtown and historic Charleston is walkable.
Good location and good price. Free parking is excellent and convenient. My room needed some maintenance on the shower floor as most of the grout was gone which gives the impression that it is not clean. The bathroom was very tiny as you had to close the door to look in the mirror. A pillow upgrade would be recommended. Location of my room was over the ramp to the parking and was full of contractors making noise while they were doing stucco work. The room itself was rather noisy during the night. HVAC was really loud and noises from the hallway were very obvious. Some of these comments could be addressed easily and would improve the experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Maureen, Hotel Management
It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. The King Charles Inn is proud to provide staff 24 hours to answer any questions regarding our rooms and amenities, and there is a maintenance person to assist with troubleshooting or minor repairs available from 7am to 11pm daily. Thank you for your feedback.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value for the money

Posted Feb 18, 2017
We enjoyed the inn and found it comfy, nice bar and dining room, rooms are great. Best part is the locale, literally walking distance to all of historic part of city. Excellent value for price we paid
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Maureen, Hotel Management
It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. The King Charles Inn is ideally situated in the heart of the city's historic district. Located just steps from numerous attractions, restaurants, and shops, it is a perfect spot for travelers who enjoy convenience. Thank you for your kind review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Girl's Getaway

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Visited Charleston with one overnight. Staff was helpful with suggestions of what to do and where to eat. We came back for Happy Hour which was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Maureen, Hotel Management
It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. Thank you for your kind review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Great hotel in the thick of it in Charleston

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Just a very pleasant boutique hotel. Good parking (free) if you bring a car. Great Central location. Very professional and courteous staff. The 4:30pm cheese was welcome too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Maureen, Hotel Management
It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. Thank you for your kind review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ponte vedra Beach.

Fantastic location.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Location location location! Price was fantastic too.
Walked the historic district from here. Close to market and several A+ restaurants. Just came up for a girls getaway for a couple days. Definitely would stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Maureen, Hotel Management
It is such a pleasure to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to Charleston, and your accommodations at the King Charles Inn. Thank you for your kind review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Hotel is close to the historical area

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: Although hotel facilities are limited due to space, it did have a nice bar and rest area. We enjoyed the location of the hotel.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location is close to the local market and the historical area of Charleston
We enjoyed our stay at the King Charles Inn. The hotel was easy to find and the on site free parking was a bonus. The reception staff were welcoming on arrival and very helpful throughout our stay. We found the hotel to be well position to visit the main attractions in Charleston and we walked everywhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Maureen, Hotel Management
It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. Our staff strives to provide superior and personalized service to each of our guests, and we appreciate your recognition of their efforts. Thank you for your kind review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: It had old word charm .Nice large room free water most places charge for it or give one bottle. Large porch which was nice touch. Pleasant staff .
Location: excellent location. walk to all activities .Staff very helpful can give you endless ideas . I usually stay out in wild dunes or Sullivans island .
Friendly staff charming comfortable hotel excellent location . Free parking a plus. If short stay and don't need perfect walk to most city activity
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Maureen, Hotel Management
It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. The King Charles Inn is proud to provide several complimentary amenities including water bottles, Keurig coffee pods, a manager's reception featuring complimentary cheese, olives, and fruit, evening tea and cookies, and, our favorite, free parking. Thank you for your kind review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great place to stay!

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Great location, very comfortable surroundings. Staff is so accommodating. Have been here before and will definitely return. Just love Charleston, so much to see and enjoy the great restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 18, 2017 by Maureen, Hotel Management
It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. Our staff strives to provide superior and personalized service to each of our guests, and we appreciate your recognition of their efforts. Thank you for your kind review, and we look forward to your next visit.