Ratings based on 1,925 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Collins CO

Everything you could ever need!!

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Location, location, location!! Excellent staff that gave amazing referrals for dining, tours, and shopping! Will definitely stay here again. Enjoyed the happy hour and nightly cookies and tea. A Charleston GEM! Family of four :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Our favorite place to stay.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
We have been here several times and love it more each time. Rooms are comfortable and every member of the staff is very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Great location walking distance to all downtown venues
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, MN

Quaint hotel in historic Charleston

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Smaller hotel with nice seating areas in the pool, bar, and another area with fireplace.
Location: Conveniently located right downtown, great shopping and dining within easy walking distance.
Well maintained property close enough to walk around historic Charleston and enjoy the southern hospitality of the city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Maureen, Hotel Management
It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. Thank you for your kind and detailed review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pine Hill, NJ

great location

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: The location. The friendly, helpful staff
Cons: The locations of elevators.
Location: Right in heart of town. Tours were fantastic. Restaurants on every block. Real close to all shoppes, including the City Market. (which is a must)
We were greeted with the utmost courtesy and smiles. Room was very clean. Big, spacious bathroom. Convenient location to everything we wanted to do. We walked everywhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by Maureen, Hotel Management
It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the King Charles Inn. Our staff strives to provide superior and personalized service to each of our guests, and we appreciate your recognition of their efforts. Thank you for your kind review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterford, Ontario

Great hotel in Historic Charleston

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, afternoon reception, parking included, and comfortable and spacious room.
Location: Excellent location near waterfront, sightseeing, shopping and many fine restaurants.
Excellent location for exploring old Charleston. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. The king room was very comfortable with good amenities. The afternoon cheese and wine reception was quite enjoyable and the morning breakfast also was quite good. Would definitely stay at the King Charles again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by Maureen, Hotel Management
It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay the the King Charles Inn. We are proud to provide numerous amenities including a manager's reception featuring drink specials and complimentary snacks, and a complimentary evening tea and cookie hour. Breakfast is served daily with an a la carte menu featuring traditional and economically priced items-- our homeade quiche is a long time favorite among guests. Thank you for your kind review, and we look forward to your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, Pa

Hotel In Historic Charleston, S.C.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff and convience to the historic district
Staying in a city that we were not familiar with is a challenge. This hotel is located in the historic district and has easy access to all of the attractions that were there to visit. The hotel staff were very thoughtful and helpful with all of our needs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by Maureen, Hotel Management
It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. The King Charles Inn is ideally located in the heart of the city's historic district. This places us just steps from numerous historic attractions, restaurants, and shops, plus our 24 hour front desk is available to help make recommendations and tailor your vacation. Thank you for your kind review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great location

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Overall we had a great stay, the location is convinient to getting around the city easily in any direction. Pros: -location -this is a well maintained and updated property, there is pride of ownership here -free parking -free access to the gym behind the hotel, a huge plus for me -very friendly and accommodating staff -well maintained rooms Cons: -walls are thin so outside noise is abundant -on our second day the housekeeper never came to our room, certainly an oversight but still an inconvenience -one of our double beds was certainly overdue in being replaced, it was completely lopsided and uncomfortable -couldn't access closed captioning on the tv, which seems minor, but with a toddler sleeping in the room it was necessary Overall this is a good hotel and the cons are minor,we would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by Maureen, Hotel Management
It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. The King Charles Inn provides staff available 24 hours to assist with any inquiries regarding our rooms and our amenities. We encourage guests to contact the front desk with any inquiries to ensure the most comfortable and most pleasurable stay. Thank you for your thorough feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Nithing
Location: Shopping and sightseeing right out the doir
From the minute we walked in we were greeted by friendly staff which was rare Room and the facilities were great. Would highly recommend hotel and would definitely go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by Maureen, Hotel Management
It is a pleasure to learn that you so thoroughly enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. Our staff strives to provide a superior and personalized experience to each of our guests, and we appreciate your recognition of their efforts. Thank you for your kind review, and we look forward to your next visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ukraine

Great downtown location; a Southern Gem.

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Very friendly and hospitable staff; clean and the perfect touch of Southern charm and elegance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by Maureen, Hotel Management
It is a pleasure to learn that you so thoroughly enjoyed your visit to the King Charles Inn. Thank you for your very kind review.