Ratings based on 1,829 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect location

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Perfect location. Wonderful, helpful, friendly staff. Plenty of restaurants in walking distance, I just wish the hotel cafe was open more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. Thank you for your kind review.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bucks County, PA US

Enjoyed our 2-night stay

Posted Nov 30, 2016
We had never visited Charleston before and we enjoyed our 2-night stay here in mid-November. Our stay was not without mishap because there was a heating problem in our room the first night. We enjoyed the delicious breakfast options and service, although not included in the room rate. The computer access was excellent in the rooms and in the public area. We were delighted the hotel permitted us to leave our car in their parking area until 4pm on our last day there. This enabled us to do some more sightseeing before leaving Charleston. We found the city to be very walkable and pleasant, with much to see and do. The group carriage tours with the Palmetto Carriage Works are fun and we enjoyed the large, open City Market. We enjoyed our lunches at Carmella's. Their home-made chocolate Bailey's eclairs were to die for and so were the sandwiches made with crunchy French/Italian bread! We will return because 2 of our children's families have settled in SC and there is still much for us to see and to do over again. The local walking maps are excellent!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are so glad that you enjoyed your time in Charleston with us. The King Charles Inn offers several amenities including a business center in our lobby, complimentary wifi throughout the hotel, plus a happy hour as well as a tea and cookie hour in the Brew Pub. Thank you for your kind review.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Location: historic district Great when during our stay the market was going on with many vendors blocks long.
We had our family reunion there. Wonderful hotel and staff, reasonable, they do NOT nickel and dime you and very cooperative and friendly. No problems at all. If you need something they are there for you and do their best to help, very comfortable, elegant and casual at the same time. We selected this hotel because we were there once before and enjoyed it the first and second time!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are so glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. Thank you for your favorable review.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Short, easy walk to historic Charleston

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Pros: Staff was very friendly, and helpful. The hotel's ambiance is quaint, personal so to speak. No extra charge for hotel parking, and spaces were large.
Cons: Nothing. The daily room rate was very reasonable, given the hotel's favorable location. My wife and I were impressed with the King Charles Inn.
Location: Walking and carriage tours, free trolley, great restaurants, market district, history and more history!
This was our first visit to Charleston. Due to heavy traffic and accidents on I-95 (we came from PA), we didn't arrive at the hotel until 1:30 AM. The desk clerk greeted us warmly, helped unloading our car, and took the luggage to our room. We spent two full days in Charleston and loved it. When we return we will stay for at least 4 days, as we needed more time to leisurely experience the city and some nearby attractions. The city is on a peninsula and small enough to easily walk for those in reasonably good condition. There are excellent restaurants. We dined at Magnolias on East Bay Street and the food was delicious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. Our staff strives to provide superior service to each of our guests, and we appreciate your recognition of their efforts. Thank you for your kind and detailed review.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london Ontario

Close to historic area. Easy walks around town.

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Historic city. Walking tour, harbour cruise were well worth doing. Staff at hotel very helpful at all times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. Thank you for your kind review.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake Lure, NC

Historic Charleston with parking

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Loved being able to park at hotel for no extra charge. Close to everything in historic Charleston. Comfortable room with extra amenities not found in other hotels. My only disappointment was the bath water was warm at best. It never got hot. I have stayed at this hotel before and don't recall a problem with water temperature so perhaps it was an isolated incident.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We thank you for choosing to stay with us again. The King Charles Inn proudly provides free parking in a city where it is sparing, and we are located in the heart of Charleston's historic district so everything is within walking distance. Thank you for your kind review.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Comfortable, attractive rooms

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Very helpful and friendly staff. Always greeted you, offered to help with any need or question.
Cons: The breakfast menu in the grill should be expanded to include other meals.
Comfortable, attractive room. Friendly, helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. Thank you for your kind review and for your feedback.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbia, United States of America

Next to the ice machine, no upgrade

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Good Location
Cons: A few pictures would be nice... LOL
Location: We were within walking distance of Slave Market...
We were placed next to the ice machine with a standard room..Staff was young and generally polite and curious but had little information. As you drive into the parking area in the afternoon the sun blinds you , they need a small awning to provide safe car access..
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. Our staff is trained to provide clear and correct information regarding historic attractions, restaurants, shopping, directions- you name it! As full service concierges, our guests should feel secure in their recommendations. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we appreciate your feedback.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Very comfortable and convenient!

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: It was near to everything in downtown Charlotte, we walked everywhere!
The staff was very friendly and courteous, the room was very clean and the bed was VERY comfortable. No "fancy" amenities though, just basic soap/lotion. Wish they offered robes in the room, was surprised they didn't We didn't have a car, so on the day of our departure they held our luggage and also called a taxi service to take us to the airport. They have free parking. Overall, a great stay! I would recommend to a friend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. Robes are available upon request. Thank you for your kind review.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Positive Experience

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: All good
Location: Fort Sumter is a must!
Comfortable room and excellent location. Breakfast was also good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2016 by Maureen, Hotel Management
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Charleston with us. Thank you for your very kind review.