Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay with nice amenities! Great location

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Beautiful hotel and within walking distance to everything. Breakfast was nice and delivered to our room. Definitely one the nicer hotels we've stayed at in Charleston.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Dec 18, 2016
The location of this hotel can't be beat. It is very quaint and honey with a helpful and courteous staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Great if you travel with a pet!

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: A nice hotel in a perfect location. Shopping on King Street, the Market, and many restaurants are a short walk away.
Cons: The wine reception and the breakfast was below average compared to most inns we have stayed in.
We had a nice stay at this hotel and we're glad to find a place this nice in Charleston that allowed pets and was also very reasonable with the rate. They even had a little welcome gift for our Westie.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampstead, NC

Nice hotel you can walk to anything.

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Yummy breakfast brought to my room. Great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great hotel, well located

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Very pleasant room
Cons: Could use a bit of freshening up In the public areas
Location: Great location in the centre of things
Right in the heart of downtown; friendly and helpful staff; large, comfortable room. Courtyards very pleasant, particularly during wine and cheese event each night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sc

Historic

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: Top location! Walking distance to all his historic sites and restaurants.
Very comfortable room, normal amenities, slightly tight room but historic hotel. Limited breakfast options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Takesha server for breakfast is fabulous. Great lo

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Breakfast wonderful takes ha the best server. Rooms shoddy paint in shower ceiling peeling from leak. Pillows small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Amazing Location AND Affordable

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location- it was also a very comfortable place to stay- beautiful, large rooms.
Cons: We didn't eat the breakfast because they didn't have an egg dish- that would be my only suggestion.
Location: City Market, shops on King Street, basically the entire historic district is at your doorstep.
This was a real "find". We stopped in Charleston for two nights in between my son's two baseball tournaments. I never thought I would find a place on King Street that was so affordable. It was perfect- we were able to walk everywhere; the city market was literally right outside the back door. Rooms were large, decorated as you would expect a historic hotel to be- high ceilings, courtyards. The A/C worked so good- a welcome respite after walking the streets in the awful low country humidity. Staff was friendly and helpful..this will be our "go to" anytime we are in the Charleston area. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great place to stay.

Posted May 13, 2016
I was initially a little nervous booking this hotel because I have never stayed at a small hotel before. Visiting charleston for the first time I wanted to stay in historic downtown. This was the perfect location. There were some many things to see under a 10 minute walk but many more within minutes. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. They gave us great recommendations for places to eat. They have a wine and cheese tasting every night and it is lovely to sit in the courtyard. The continental breakfast was also very nice. I highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Charming Hotel, Excellent Location

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Hotel staff, hotel courtyard, and great location.
Location: So much to do within walking distance at this location! Shopping, restaurants, town walking, riverfront walking.
Hotel staff were very gracious and helpful, especially in recommending restaurants and making the reservations for us. Very charming, private outdoor courtyard. Walking distance to everything downtown, and ample parking available in their rear parking lot. The only negative comment we would make is that we found the queen sized mattress in our room to be very uncomfortable. We realize this is subjective, and someone else may love it. The room was small, with the wardrobe taking up a lot of space. There is no other closet, but we had (just) enough space in the wardrobe to store clothing for two people. Depending on how much clothing you bring, you may need additional hangers.