Ratings based on 313 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Charming Hotel, Excellent Location

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Pros: Hotel staff, hotel courtyard, and great location.
Location: So much to do within walking distance at this location! Shopping, restaurants, town walking, riverfront walking.
Hotel staff were very gracious and helpful, especially in recommending restaurants and making the reservations for us. Very charming, private outdoor courtyard. Walking distance to everything downtown, and ample parking available in their rear parking lot. The only negative comment we would make is that we found the queen sized mattress in our room to be very uncomfortable. We realize this is subjective, and someone else may love it. The room was small, with the wardrobe taking up a lot of space. There is no other closet, but we had (just) enough space in the wardrobe to store clothing for two people. Depending on how much clothing you bring, you may need additional hangers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Joseph from Waltham

Charleston treat

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
Great place to meet friends from all over the eastern seaboard, right in the middle of the historic district. Quaint old hotel, nothing fancy but charming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lenny from Pasadena, CA

Beautiful hotel with historic Southern charm!

Posted Sep 27, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel with historic Southern charm! Great location! Very nice staff. We'll definitely be back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Constance M.

Good Girls weekend trip

Posted Sep 26, 2015 on Orbitz
Enjoyed the stay. Perfect location for walking around and being in the heart of activity. Room was a tad dry and had a noisy AC system. It was a bit nippy going from room to street as the rooms are around an outdoor courtyard, probably a nice feature when the weather is warmer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay!

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Cons: While the price was a little elevated, I was there for a holiday weekend and based on the hotel's location, it made sense.
The staff was excellent. The location was perfect. The room could have been a little more clean; for example, the rug could have used a steam clean. The morning breakfast was a nice amenity to start every day. I would stay at the hotel again for the location and staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Regina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Way, way overpriced.

Posted Sep 17, 2015
I've stayed at a new Marriott Marquis in DC, for less than this old, not very well maintained "quaint" hotel. I expected old, renovated accommodations. What we got was old, loud, neglected, and disappointing room, with wifi that went out 3 times a day, and no one on duty to reset it. I can pee with greater volume than the shower had...literally. Took 5 minutes to get hot water, and another 5 minutes to get yourself wet. Lousy paint job on walls (sloppily applied, ran over edge of tile), woodwork was not of original time frame architecture, but rather 1980's. Mildew on walls, and lots of other issues too numerous to mention. For $280 a night (PLUS PARKING) I'll stay at Harbour View Inn, or a newer hotel. Or a real bed and breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay.

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
Had only one night in Charleston, SC. I'm so glad I picked your hotel. Location is great in central Charleston. Hotel reception was friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by William

Quiet get away

Posted Aug 31, 2015 on Hotels
Great location to restaurants and shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Charles M.

A twosome getaway.

Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Orbitz
We wanted to visit Charleston. The King Courtyard was an old historic hotel. Our room was 0ld but comfortable. The best thing about the hotel was that it was very convenient to the walk to the things we wanted to see. The breakfasts were tasty.