Ratings based on 1,575 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017
Nice location, very quick drive to enter the center of Charleston. Staff very friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by LQ Customer Care , Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind review! We truly appreciate your words about our staff. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. We look forward to your next visit! Sincerely, LQ Customer Care
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2017
Room near busy highway. Floors had not been cleaned.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We sincerely apologize for the highway and the cleanliness of the floors. We will make sure your comments are shared with our Management Team, so we can use them for further training purposes. We do hope you choose us for your future travels. Respectfully, LQ Customer Care
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location. Bad staff, cleanliness, condition.

Posted May 1, 2017
Room wasn't ready until almost 6pm. Was promised the manager would call me. He never did. Finally cut my foot on a broken bottle in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 24, 2017 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the delay at check in. The lack of follow up from the hotel is not our standard code of conduct. We will be forwarding your feedback to the hotel management team to be reviewed. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience. Respectfully, LQ Customer Care
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Not what paid for.

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was only good thing we encountered.
Cons: training for front desk staff, in customer service.
Check in was a problem, agent seemed aggravated that credit card used to book was no longer valid. Card was a debit card that was replaced with new card since booking. Room was wrong, booked a king room and was given 2 double beds. Considering the check in experience it wasn't worth the hassle of asking for another room, so much for sleeping in same bed on anniversary night. Checkout was no better, when mentioned had been given wrong room I got no response from agent. There is still a hold on my credit card that had to give for any potential charges other than room, a week after checked out of room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 28, 2017 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
I'm so sorry to hear about the service you experienced. Please know that we are continuing to work with our staff to ensure friendlier customer service in the future. So thank you for bringing this our attention. Regarding the charges, I completely understand the frustration. Unfortunately, the charge is a bank hold. While we wish we could have a say on the issue, it's not up to the hotel to release these holds– it's the bank. But again, I do understand the frustration and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience it has caused you. Regardless, I hope you enjoyed your time in Charleston and that you'll consider giving us another chance in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austintown, Ohio

Dirty Room and Bathroom

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleaning
There was hair in the bathtub, dead bugs.dirt in every corner in bathroom and in the bedroom. Blood was dried on the air conditioner where you control temp. Smelled of smoke in non smoking room. The cleaning person left cleaning cart in hallway and left room next to ours open all night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Heidi, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We sincerely apologize for your experience. The management team will be addressing the cleanliness and odor issues you mentioned with our housekeeping manager, so we can use them for further training purposes. Thank you very much for bringing your concerns to our attention. Sincerely, LQ Customer Care
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: All is very good.
Cons: All is good.
Location: See the Yorktown and town center and beautiful ocean front park.
Very nice , new appearance, clean, breakfast very good, convenient location, loved looking at all the boats and yachts. Gladly return anytime and dog friendly. Peter Browne D.D.S.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 20, 2017 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to submit your review. We are delighted that you had a good stay and enjoyed our location near the marina. We look forward to having you as a guest again, in the near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Hotel staff was very unhelpful.

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: The city and beach were great. The hotel staff treated us like dirt.
Cons: Read the experience paragraph above. It says it all.
This was my first spring-break ever. I had a terrible experience at your hotel. The front desk clerk was very unhelpful and condecending. I reported that I accidently left my wallet in the lobby ladies room, and later when it was recovered by the hotel room service people, over $90 was missing. My credit cards were still in the wallet. I'm not accusing them of taking the money but the front desk person took no action and told me "that's why I don't carry cash". They didn't say that they would file report or anything. Separately, I somehow booked a room with one double bed instead of two. Three girls were staying together. I asked the desk clerk if we could have a rollout bed or something like that and was told no, it would be a fire hazard and there were no extra blankets. It was clear to me that the hotel staff were not willing to take any action to assure a welcome or helpful atmosphere for the guests that have a problem. Very sad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by LQ Customer Care , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. The lack of professionalism and concern that you described is certainly not the standard code of conduct. We will be forwarding your feedback to the hotel management team to be reviewed and addressed. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience. Sincerely, LQ Customer Care
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wilmington NC

Understaffed and not attentive

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: It's on the marina and pleasant to view.
Cons: Training, supervision, and standards for cleaning rooms and responding to quests. Answer the phone - I had to walk to front desk for each request.
Location: Although it seemed a little outside the city it was very easy to navigate and get around. Lots to see and do, lots of good things to eat.
Stuck without toilet paper for one night even after it was requested from front desk. Trash cans were not emptied during our 3-night stay and water and soda had no fixed price. Front desk staff quoted prices from $1.00 - $3.00, never the same from day to day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. The hotel management team will be advised of your review in an effort to improve our operations. Your comments are taken seriously and we will take steps to make the guest experience even better. Respectfully, LQ Customer Care
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Location. Style of the rooms. Staff
Cons: Cleanliness. Breakfast quality.
Location: Folly Beach is only 20 mins away and just under10 minutes from Downtown Charleston!
It is in a convenient location & the staff are all very kind and accommodating. They offer a little bit of everything, but it is all sub par sadly :/ The rooms were not clean enough that I would book again, the breakfast was disappointing except the waffles. But for a quick stay I guess its not too bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by LQ Customer Care , Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid feedback. We are very sorry to hear that the hotel was not up to par in the areas mentioned. Please note this information has been passed on to our management staff to ensure improvements are considered and made. We very much appreciated your business and thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, LQ Customer Care
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to downtown

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Had a great experience here. Would recommend to any family looking to stay in Charleston.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by LQ Customer Care , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the amenities we take pride in offering. Please come see us again soon!