Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Good location. Bathrooms could use an upgrade.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Tub had rust stains and constantly dripped. Kitchen didn't have enough dishes for two people. Staff was friendly and helpful but looked overworked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by Paula, Hotel Management
Hi Ryon, Thank you for being a guest of Mainstay Suites. We appreciated you mentioning our friendly and helpful staff. Bathroom renovations are underway to replace all bathtubs, surrounds and faucets. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the beautiful Charleston area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Should have brought some Lysol.

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: The location was nice for getting to everything. The front desk staff were very nice.
Cons: The smell of the room and the noisy air conditioner. Also fix fridge.
Location: The location was great, Very easy to get to Charleston and Folly Beach also close to Magnolia Gardens.
The room seemed old. The room had a bad smell when we walked in. The refrigerator leaked so we needed to leave a towel on the floor and the air conditioner made a loud noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2016 by PD, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for mentioning our friendly front desk staff. We are sorry that the housekeeping services did not meet your expectation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great location

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Staff was amazing. Rooms were comfortable and spacious. Loved the double suites. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others and would stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Comfortable Room

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: The rooms were like small 2BR apartments. Continental breakfast included very good coffee and delicious chocolate chip muffins.
Cons: The rooms could use a thorough cleaning. Corners and ledges were dusty.
Location: The hotel is 15 min from the beach or downtown Charleston and 5 min from Patriots Point. Lots of good restaurants in all directions.
This was our first visit to the area. We came to town for a wedding at Patriots Point, so this hotel was a great location. We have 2 young children, so having sleeping areas separate from sitting areas was perfect. The Continental breakfast was good for our early risers to get a pre-breakfast snack and coffee while the rest of our crew slept in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

very helpful staff, great room and location

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: location, shower, staff
Cons: water cooler at breakfast area
Location: Shem Creek - great little boardwalk out to the water, excellent restaurant, very pretty and pleasing way to spend a couple of hours. Yorktown navel.
room was very comfortable - great beds, excellent shower. very nice grounds. sweet spot to sit out back for breakfast. staff was very helpful and friendly. special shout out to Ashleigh and Terrance! Thank you for making our stay enjoyable. definitely recommend this hotel . very convenient to downtown Charleston and surrounding area .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Staff very pleasant.

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Lots of updating. Attention to detail and when they say they are going to do something do it. No follow thru.
We were there for 10 days and were told room would be cked every 3days and full cleaning 5 days. Did not happen. Asked for clean linens and were left for me to put on bed. Put towels and sheets outside door and were picked up and no clean ones left. Asked 3 times to have floors vacuumed and never happened. When I finally complained was told full cleaning would happen next day which was 2 days before we were to leave. Bed comfortable but couch was terrible. Bathroom very small. Needs lots of updating. Will not be back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Marcos, TX

Passing through

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: The location was good - near restaurants.
Cons: Needs updating and better cleaning.
Location: Charleston is great.
There were many maintenance problems with the place. Our door didn't even shut unless you leaned hard on it. The overall appearance was clean, but everything was old and we rubbed our finger along a lamp base and it was coated with dust.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tn

Very nice stay

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Pros: Tuesday night social was great, had chili and good fellowship
Cons: Nothing it was great, staff was excellent.
Location: USS Yorktown was cool, Sullivan's island was nice, Memorial park and pier was super and also the Fire museum was awesome.
We had a great time, the place had a alligator sign up in the back and there is really one there. My boys loved there stay and it was very close to everything we wanted to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hatfield PA

Visit to Charleston SC

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: Convenience and price
Cons: Safe was broken in the room and couldn't be repaired/replaced during our stay
Took a mini vacation to Charleston with some friends and wanted someplace close and convenient to the historical attractions without the pricey rooms. This place was ideal as it was very close to Patriot's Point and right near the bridge that takes you into the center of town. We even met a friendly alligator in back of the property. Well worth the value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Decent Lodging

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: The suite overall was dreary, gloomy, inconveniently arranged and could use creative rearrangement.
Location: The glorious city of Charleston just a few miles away.
We did not like our room. We did like it's location in the hotel near the front entrance and parking, the breakfast area and outside patio. All staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. Location