Ratings based on 221 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very fine hotel

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: As above
Cons: Staff issues, as noted
Location: Perfect
The hotel was very nice. I would have liked to have room staff that spoke English to any degree. Most of the downstairs staff were very nice, but not particularly knowledgeable about the area and sites. But, I would clearly stay in hotel again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york ny

Great Location / some improvements needed

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Paid for concierge floor where you get breakfast , tea and drinks . Thought it would be great to get breakfast before we started the day . The breakfast food was awful ....eggs were egg patties. Also , the room where it was served was small, dark , with no light . The same with the hotel room which had one window but didn't have enough light or enough lamps for that matter . Also , the pool /bar on the roof was really a bar with a very small pool . Not the kind you would feel comfortable lounging at in the afternoon . Had assumed differently from hotel web site. On the good side , the room was richly appointed , the hotel concierges were wonderful and warm , location was great . Restaurant downstairs appeared stuffy but was one of the best meals we had and the service was great .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ryan from Charlotte, NC

Mother's Day Weekend

Posted May 12, 2015 on Hotels
Amazing hotel. Very very clean and top notch service. Beds were comfortable too. Would stay again for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kila

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carol from Houston

Valet mix up

Posted Apr 20, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely hotel, but VERY pricey...Nice room, but LOUSY view which made the room feel very dark Plus, when returning from dinner, we saw our car that was supposed to have been valet parked sitting just off the street. Evidently, the hotel staff had brought it to someone thinking it was their car? Thank heavens the people didn't take the car...or did they?? The car had obviously been outside for a period of time as it was covered with rain drops. Paid $50 for 'parking!'
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2015
This Hotel is top shelf. The staff and accommodations are exquisite!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place, but could improve on service

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Architecture, décor, breakfast delivery to our floor
Cons: Expand the cocktail menu. Get rid of that tacky, volcanic, dry ice thing. I couldn't believe that was my only option. No thanks.
Location: waterfront, bars, restaurants, historic landmarks, neighborhoods, shopping. You can walk and walk and be continually entertained by your surroundings
This is a beautiful hotel in a perfect location for dining and sight-seeing. Ditch your car with the valet and you never need it again- until you check out. Everything you'll want to do is within reach. We had an issue with our air conditioning, which was addressed by the staff. However, my traveling partner and I required separate beds. We deliberately booked a room with two queen-sized beds. When we walked into the room, there was only one bed. When I inquired with the staff about the mistake, they told me it was my fault for booking with Expedia and that at least I must have gotten a good deal. They said that their availability does not match what Expedia shows. They made absolutely no attempt to correct or sympathize with our situation. When we checked out, the same girl who checked us in was there. She asked how our stay was and when I told her it was awkward sharing a bed, she just laughed. She said we should have just shoved a bunch of pillows between us. I didn't appreciate the staff completely disregarding and even making a joke out of my requests and preferences. It's not a bad hotel, but I don't think I would go back or recommend it. I found their "guest services" to be awkward, unrefined, and unaccommodating. Just not worth the money for me. There are a lot of hotels to choose from.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Just like home, only better

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: It's a well managed hotel and the staff cares about what they do.
Location: At the epicenter of Charleston. Park you car and walk everywhere.
Excellent staff who are knowledgeable about Charleston's amenities. A beautiful hotel, well managed. A restaurant that knows it's always best to curate a menu that is simple, but flawlessly prepared and presented. A roof bar with a youthful vibe. This is a fine place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s.c.

walking distance to most attractions

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: good location
hotel is not worth the 500 plus dollars per night better stay elsewhere !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Could be better

Posted Mar 11, 2015 on Hotels
Staff doesn't know what is going on. Especially valet and housekeeping.