Ratings based on 128 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, attentive staff, very comfortable

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Every thing about the hotel and room was very very nice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: Great bed, free wifi
Cons: Coffee
Location: Amen restarunt was great
Fantastic rooftop bar, great breakfast but I like stronger coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Perfect "old style" southern experience

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: Location, service, rooms, cleanliness.
Cons: It is disappointing not to be able to get a seat at the rooftop bar when you are paying top dollar to stay at the hotel, & it is full of day trippers.
This hotel exceeded expectations from the moment we pulled up to the front door. Staff are courteous and helpful and the hotel is perfectly located in the heart of the historic district. We were only there one night and wish we could have stayed much longer. We will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Hotel staff was very courteous and facilities were top-notch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in perfect location

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Pros: We stayed on the concierge level which includes free breakfast, coffee anytime and wine and beer at happy hour.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to restaurants, shopping on King Street.
My wife and I met another couple for a three day trip to Charleston. The Holy City lived up to its reputation for food and the Market Pavilion Hotel is a wonderful place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Best of the Best

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Best hotel I've ever had the pleasure of visiting. I will stay here again. 5*****
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

Great hotel. No window.

Posted Nov 8, 2015
Hotel was exceptional on every level but our room had a tiny, fogged over window with no light and no view. i would make sure to ask for a street facing window room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Pros: Southern charm and hospitality
Cons: Although the continental breakfast is lovely, there is no place to sit and enjoy it. One must take the coffee and pastries back to the bedroom.
Location: great location
This hotel is well situated within walking distance of the major attractions in beautiful Charleston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant hotel, great location, rooftop bar w/ pool

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: Location, rooftop and lobby bars, music in lobby and very nice room.
Cons: The safe and the phone did not work in our room.
Location: We went on a historic walking tour with Oyster Bay Walking tours. it was wonderful and the meeting spot was across the street from the hotel.
Very nice and elegant hotel. very nice location in the historic district. We were on the concierge level so we had breakfast in the morning, tea sandwiches in the afternoon, wine and champagne late afternoon, cookies in the evening all put out nicely for us. The beautiful curtains when closed made the room so dark we almost slept till noon. Our phone and safe though did not work in the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, Texas

Nice hotel close to restaurants and shops.

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Pros: Lovely room and bed. Roof-top bar, food and small swimming pool.
Cons: It was advertised with "Continental Breakfast". This was one tray of pastries per hotel floor! Coffee and tea went away mid-afternoon - none in room
Location: Dozens of restaurants and shops within walking distance. On the free tram route that goes around Charleston.
Lovely room and bed. Enjoyable roof-top bar with snacks and a small swimming pool. Continental Breakfast was a disaster and should NOT be advertised. Only one tray of pastries per hotel floor! Three bananas and apples, if you were lucky to be there first! Coffee and tea disappeared mid-afternoon, and there was none in the room. This terrible breakfast and lack of coffee and tea ruined our stay in an otherwise beautiful hotel. Hotel is within easy walking distance of dozens of restaurants, a market and other shops. It is also actually on the tram route for free rides around Charleston.