Ratings based on 372 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We had a fabulous stay!

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Everything - the room was beautiful, the food delicious and the staff very friendly, professional and accomodating.
Cons: I found nothing I didn't like about this hotel.
Location: The hotel is right in the heart of downtown Charleston - the historic marketplace, various shops, eateries, and historic sites, etc. are all nearby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Modern hotel in classic clothing

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Everything is well thought out in this sleek, tasteful hotel, from the coffee and pastry tables in each hallway to the way our baggage was pre-loaded in the car. They have a handle on what pleases people and they do it with ease. The restaurant is world class. My wife and I have traveled widely and recognize excellence. I could happily spend the rest of my life at the Market Pavilion Hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Beautiful upscale Hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2016
The Hotel is beautiful inside and out, great location. Our room was very comfortable and clean, really enjoyed the continental breakfast that was swt up out side our room. We enjoyed the roof top Restaurant and Bar at night. My wife and I had the best steak we had ever eaten at the 225 Gril that's located inside the Hotel. This was the first time in almost 5 years that my wife and I were able to get a getaway without kids, and we could not have picked a better hotel and city.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston

extremely well situated

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: its size, not too big, rooms and bathroom,maid service, the self service breakfast and fruit available in the hallways, delivery of the new york times
Cons: definitely the cocktails up on the terrace!
Location: right near the covered market, walk easily to several of the good restaurants, walk to the battery, and battery park, walk to the main shopping st,
overall a very good experience, with the exception of the roof terrace, while very pretty, service on a friday night was not good up here, and the cocktails, served in plastic glasses because of proximity to the pool, were warm,and not terribly interesting. they were also expensive compared to those in other restaurants we visited. we did have 2 lunches in the hotel restaurant which were very good, service good also. room was very clean, good linens, and very good maid service. would definitely book again, it was overall, a very pleasant stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Paul, MN

The Hotel is great!

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: We loved the roof top bar and wonderful views!
The Hotel is right in the heart of the best things in Charleston. You can walk to the pier for the excursions to Ft. Sumter and other harbor tours. Also an easy walk to the aquarium, great restaurants and many historic homes that can be toured.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Didn't care for the strong musty odor in our room. Shower door didn't want to stay closed so water would leak out onto bathroom floor. Final room charge was higher than we anticipated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Great Hotel with wonderful staff.

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: The cleanliness and beautiful condition of the property.
Cons: Make sure the televisions are working.
Location: The hotel is next to the city market which makes it idea for bargain shopping.It is centrally located and a short walk to everything.
Everything was exceptional with the facilities.From coffee and pastry on our floor in the morning to the shortbread cookies and turndown at night.We were surprised with the great service and hospitality of every staff member.We left a day early because of Storm Hermine and the front desk refunded our money for that unused night.That was a nice offer and well appreciated.I would definately consider this hotel again.
5 out of 5
by Mary from Raleigh

Perfect location

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay at the Market pavilion was perfect. It is the perfect location to explore Charleston. The rooftop bar is the perfect place to relax after shopping and before heading to one of Charleston's fabulous restaurants before dinner. The rooms are very comfortable and the decor is perfect for the Charleston vibe.
4 out of 5
by Martin from CT

Charleston

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was very nice. Enjoyed the convenience to be able to walk to restaurants, shopping and the historic tours. We were in Charleston for 10 days and golfed every other day. We could drive to any course and had the pleasure to play The Ocean Course in Kiawah, which was a short drive. The only complaint we had was leaving early in the mornings. Getting our car was delayed due to the morning coverage was limited. The service desk was one person and he had to retrieve the cars, no valet was on duty.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Southern Charm

Posted Aug 20, 2016 on Hotels
We had a wonderful stay here. It has an old southern elegance about it. Maids are in black dresses with white collars. There is a coffee stand with real cups and saucers at the end of each floor. In the morning there was juice, pastries, muffins and fruit. Not to be missed is the rooftop bar which is a lovely place to eat or have a drink and watch the city and harbor. Loved this place!