Ratings based on 324 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, New York, / Charlotte, NC

3-Night stay

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Comfort ability of the room, hotel location and staff.
Cons: Swimming pool.
Location: Restaurants, shopping, parks...
Stayed three nights. Bathrooms were larger than expected. The room was very comfortable and staff was very welcoming and accommodating. Will definitely stay when I return to South Charleston, WV later this year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WV

Very comfortable place to stay -

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Comfortable rooms and good breakfast- could have some additional items for breakfast
Cons: Hard boiled eggs-
Location: Location is as good as it gets in Charleston WV
I really felt like home - comfortable, cozy, felt safe, nice people
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Donald Canterbury Jr., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm pleased that you enjoyed our guest rooms. Our staff works hard to make our guests feel welcome. I apologize for the lack of selection on the breakfast bar. We are currently working on adding a few more hot items to our selection. We hope that you will stay with us again. Best wishes.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not My Hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: More closet space, better positioning of TV set.
Location: Didn't stay. Moved on to adjacent town.
Checked into the hotel and visited the room. Not sufficient space to bring in my clothes, hanging and within the suitcase. Did not meet my needs. Did not stay
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Donald Canterbury-Asst. General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize that your room was too small to fit your needs. The Microtel brand as a whole tends to have smaller rooms than standard rooms within other brands. We try to keep them well appointed but I understand that some individuals need more space.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edwardsville IL

Do NOT stay here!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Handicapped accessible king room was prepaid through Expedia. Room could not meet our needs, and clerk refused to let us take a queen room at the lesser charge, or give us a double without an "upgrade" charge of over $20 plus. We left. As this was booked through Expedia, they refused to credit our card, and we are paying for a room we did not use. I will never book through Expedia again. We are retired seniors. Otherwise, the motel seemed nice, but in an industrial area, and signs stated that the motel was not responsible for car break-ins. Not a safe area for families or seniors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Microtel

Posted Apr 11, 2017
small clean rooms great friendly staff decent internet okay facilities thin walls
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Donald Canterbury-Asst. Gen. Mgr., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize for the thin walls. Our front desk will investigate excessive noise if there is a problem. We hope that the noise experienced doesn't prevent you from staying with us in the future. Warm regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK overnight hotel in Charleston, WV

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Inexpensive hotel with a minimum of frills. The room was clean and the internet worked. Breakfast was the minimum one could provide in a hotel advertising breakfast. The staff has friendly.
5 out of 5
by David Colburn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Kyle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Adam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Lawrence I.

Never again

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
Would not stay here again, or at this chain. Room was too small, extremely small television at a right angle to bed. Worst of all was WiFi was inconsistent. Had to leave the hotel to find a strong signal. Not worth it. For the price it is possible to find much better.