Ratings based on 759 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nc

Right in heart of downtown

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Orbitz
Nice place, great staff, great location , would recommend to people
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Hotel great restaurant marginal; tremendous location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Location is excellent Convenient to everything Beautiful hotel Coconut cake from the Peninsula Grill was fantastic
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
First class Inn
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Excellent high end place to stay

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Just about everything - food, service, rooms etc.
Cons: See our desk staff comments
Location: Hotel is very conveniently located in old town giving access to tours and tour arrangements and wide variety of shopping opportunities within walking
Overall excellent experience. Some caveats. Two desk staff on three occasions agreed to make tour, taxi and dinner arrangements and reservations and did not do as requested even though they told us they had. Very disappointing and inconvenient for us. Hence missed one tour and were unable go to dinner at restaurant of choice. On day of checking out discovered that the pick-up confirmation we had made and were told by desk staff had been had not actually been made. Recommend that the management of the hotel update their desk staff on what they MUST do for guests on reasonable requests such as ours. Otherwise most desk staff were extremely helpful and efficient.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful experience!

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
We loved the quaint ambiance of the hotel. It was beautiful and the staff was very courteous. I loved it and would be thrilled to return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coeur d'Alene, ID

Beautiful Hotel but No VIP Benefits

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Gorgeous property but if you are going to promote yourself as a VIP property you should follow through!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic Charleston hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Nice hotel but not exactly your taste. limited amenities. No covered parking. You get wet if it's raining. No in room mini fridge. Closet is in bathroom which is very inconvenient. It does have old fashioned charm, a great location, and is clean. Recommended if you like that style but there are small issues
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Boutique hotel, just fabulous!

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Cons: We would have used a fitness center
Stayed for 4 nights at the Planters Inn for an anniversary weekend away--staff was wonderful & attentive. Rooms were romantic & comfortable. We received a bottle of champagne for our anniversary upon arrival--just always made us feel special. Location is convenient--you are located directly across from main Charleston market. The Peninsula Grill, located on site, was our best dinner of our vacation. My husband and I walked everywhere! Charleston is just a great city to visit!