Ratings based on 788 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Crossville, TN

Great Getaway!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing
Location: The location was perfect for seeing the historical part of Charleston and for shopping at the Charleston Market.
Everyone was so pleasant and so friendly, it was an absolute pleasure to stay there. I would highly recommend it to anyone that wants to visit Charleston. The service was outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Luxury hotel in optimal location

Posted Jul 17, 2017
My wife and I stayed at Planters Inn on our honeymoon and had a superb time. The hotel was in immaculate condition, the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, and the location was in the center of everything.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Location great, hotel just OK

Posted Jul 7, 2017
I was disappointed in the hotel facilities & staff. Maybe I had expected too much given that the attached Peninsula Grill is great. Staff several times gave us wrong info e.g., whether art galleries were open on July 4 (few are), which elevator to take to find my room). There was no afternoon wine as many in the area offer; the cheese straws were gone each afternoon when I looked for them, so it's obvious no one replenishes them; my room's supplies were not replenished one day so I had no shower cap & makeup remover cloth; the sink was very slow draining -- almost completely clogged--yet the housekeepers never unstopped it. They offered no maps for finding art galleries even though we asked where to find them & later one of the galleries offered us one. Staff were cheerful, just not very helpful or knowledgeable. I'm very glad we found a summer (low) rate for this hotel, because it isn't worth its usual high rate!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the heart of downtown

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: The staff fantastic as was the room.
Cons: not a thing
We really enjoyed our stay and will stay there again. It is close (within walking distance) of almost everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.C.

Convenient location

Posted Jun 29, 2017
The front desk is always willing to help you and you can always find coffee, etc. in the front living room of the hotel. The guest room was beautiful and housekeeping did a great job of cleaning throughout my stay. The hotel's location is perfect if you're interested in shopping or walking throughout the historic downtown area. Have stayed here multiple times and will certainly be coming back!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expedia Gold doesn't come through for us

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: It is gorgeous and the location could not be better for visiting this city.
Location: WALK! You will find beauty every way you go.
We purposefully chose this hotel because it had VIP status. We arrived at 10:30 pm but they told us to ask in the morning for our VIP bonus. At 9 am the next morning we were told it was champagne. We asked for free parking or a discount on breakfast, since we did not want to drink champagne for breakfast. They declined.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Staff attention to service outstanding! Boutique hotel😀 ( no pool or spa services, no gym) therefore 4.8/5 Will encourage my son to honeymoon there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Close to Everything!

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Simply put, we liked everything!
Cons: It's hard to comment about improvements, since we found nothing that interfered with a wonderful stay.
Location: Shopping galore, restaurants of every genre and the historic/romantic ambience that is Charleston is right outside the door!
This was our second stay at Planters Inn, the first celebrating our 20th anniversary and this time celebrating our 40th! The Inn did not disappoint in any way. From the moment we arrived and the valet met us at the curb, the staff took great care of us throughout our stay. Our room was spacious, well appointed and offered everything we needed to ensure a wonderful experience. The Inn's location at the historic City Market puts you at the center of everything Charleston...shopping, restaurants and the waterfront. Hopefully, we'll be back before we celebrate our 60th!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Great location in central Charleston

Posted May 1, 2017
In short, wonderful hotel. Extremely helpful staff, awesome location. I'll be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Luxury hotel in the center of historic district

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Luxury accommodations; easy access to everything in town. Coffee, tea, snacks, and water in sitting area throughout the day make guests feel at home.
Location: Center location does mean evening traffic/noise, which dies down eventually. Local market, modern shops, and two breakfast cafes are steps away.
For our second visit to Charleston, we knew we wanted to stay in the heart of the historic district with its easy access to the waterfront, restaurants, shops, and historic sites. The Planters Inn offered the perfect combination of access and retreat. Service was superb from arrival to departure. Doormen, front desk staff, and room attendants were friendly, helpful, and professional.