Ratings based on 676 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Excellent hotel in the heart of old Charleston.

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: The location is excellent; the staff are accommodating; the Peninsula Restaurant is excellent.
This was our second stay at the hotel. We will definitely come back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Posted Feb 3, 2016
A post wedding trip, great hotel. We arrived Monday enjoyed a beautiful room and wonderful food. We had room service and later ate at the restaurant. It is in a great location; we enjoyed walking to all areas of Charleston from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Asheville, NC

Charleston Weekend

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Everything!! Turn down service with lovely snack a treat. Appreciated the bottled water.
Location: Plenty of shopping on Market and King Street that is walkable. Top rated restaurant Convenient location to historic sites as well.
This was a sisters only weekend for fun, food, shopping, site seeing and fellowship. Weather was great for January. The Peninsula grill in the hotel was fabulous. Outstanding food and service. Rooms and bath room were beautiful and spacious. Linens and towels were great and bed super comfy. I liked that the hotel was a little smaller and warmer. I truly felt like I was at home. Drew met us and handled the car and getting us settled....all staff was delightful and were very happy and caring about our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming small hotel in perfect location

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: Location, location, location. Attentive staff. Free morning coffee. Charming environment.
Cons: The thermostat is hard to use. Complicated.
Location: Great restaurants, both casual and elegant, are in walking distance. Also Historic mansions, the Confederate Museum, and the bay.
The Planters Inn is walking distance to everything you would want to do in Charleston. The rooms are spacious and immaculately clean. The price a good value. Why stay anywhere else?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Beautiful hotel and ideal location!

Posted Jan 20, 2016
The staff is amazing. They call you by name from the moment you enter the door, in the dining room, and even the cleaning staff. The rooms are so quiet, and roomy. The food is the best in town. An all around amazing experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from savannah

Amazing service

Posted Jan 13, 2016
We had amazing service everywhere. The bar was fantastic and some of the best martinis I've ever had. The highlight for sure was the continental breakfast believe it or not. The pastries were amazing the muffins were more amazing in the house neighbor Nola was so good we left with some.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Great Service and Restaurant but Needs Updating

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Pros: Service- From the moment we arrived until the time we left, everyone was accommodating and ready to help but not intrusive. Peninsula Grill.
Cons: Rooms and bathrooms are in need of an update. To compete with other 5 stars, the hotel needs to invest in some additional amenities.
Location: Hotel is centrally located and close to the Market. Great location.
First let me say that the staff and their service is among the best in the world. I would also tell you that the dinner I had at the Peninsula Grill was maybe a top 5 all time meal. Service, food, and lay out of the restaurant were all perfect. Cannot wait to go back for a meal. The thing that holds this hotel back from a 5 star rating is the need for an update to their rooms and a couple additional amenities. The hotel is old and that is part of its charm, but that should not mean sacrificing comfort. Things like updating the bathrooms (especially the tubs/showers and lighting) and configuring the space to be more user-friendly would go a long ways. The lack of a pool, spa, or gym also put it at a disadvantage given the other great choices Charleston offers. If the hotel invest in these improvements, it would be hard to find a better hotel anywhere, even in Charleston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Superb Experience

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: See above.
Cons: Need to put a seal around the door of room 306 because too much light comes in.
Location: Perfect location: across from City Market, very close to King Street, on the free tram route. Peninsula Grill (attached) is fabulous!
Friendly, helpful staff; lovely room; very convenient location; Peninsula Grill provided the best meal of a great-meal trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wheaton, Illinois

Christmas in Charleston

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: Personal attention to detail.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Downtown truly has been gentrified, with great local shopping, restaurants. Everything is walkable.
Personal attention to detail is done superbly here. The staff are great, friendly, pay attention to detail. Wasn't the best nights of sleep bed just a tad to soft. But the room and amenities were wonderful. Peninsula Grill for Christmas Dinner was nice, again attention to detail with the entire dining staff made it a pure pleasure. Truly enjoyed our stay there. Will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Very attentive to my requests and pleasant.

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Lovely clean and comfortable. I enjoyed being addressed by my name, even in the wonderful restaurant. Accommodation was exceptional. Staff was efficient and courteous. No problem was too much to solve and did so graciously with a smile. Very quiet rooms, also a huge plus. Thank you for a pleasant stay.