Ratings based on 704 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Morristown, TN

Close to all tourist attractions & superb service

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: The very well kept room and great staff.
Cons: We would have liked a fridge to chill our drinks in but this was a minor inconvenience.
Location: Very central to all tourist attractions and places to eat
My wife and I were staying at the hotel for our honeymoon and the staff were very accommodating and caring. They sent us complimentary champagne (the real stuff) on our first night there and made every effort to ensure we had a happy stay there. The hotel is situated close to all the restaurants and tourist attractions. It's very well air-conditioned (important in Charleston) and incredibly quiet in spite of it being along such a busy section of the city.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bluffton, SC

Perfect Charleston Getaway

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Great staff, perfect location, room was the perfect size.
Cons: Carpeting needs a little refreshment, but very minor improvement.
Location: Central and in walking distance to all of the Charleston hot spots.
Planters Inn is now one of my favorite places to spend a weekend getaway in Charleston. Centrally located to everything, wonderful and accommodating staff, great room, terrific experience. The only suggestion I have is that the interior carpeting be updated, but very minor suggestion overall. The room was cleaned promptly everyday, with a wonderful turn down each night. The outdoor areas are perfect for relaxing with a cup of coffee or wine. My husband and I have stayed a number of Charleston inns/boutique hotels and Planters Inn easily made the top of our list.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TX

It was absolutely wonderful!

Posted Jul 16, 2016
The hotel staff was extremely hospitable and helpful! The room was beautiful! The hotel is in a great location for sight seeing in downtown Charleston. We couldn't have had a more perfect visit!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

Great hotel in the heart of town!

Posted Jun 26, 2016
We were able to cross the street for The Market, walk everywhere in town, (the waterfront, historic district, all dining options) & return to a beautiful & cozy hotel. Bar staff were outstanding!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Great staff. Great place. 10+. This survey software needs help.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Historic Hotel in Charleston

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: Hotel property was excellent, service was excellent. Nice small touches here and there.
Cons: About the only thing that could be improved is the mattress on the bed, and pillows with a little more stamina. Otherwise, really excellent.
Location: We are a mobile couple and love to walk everywhere- from here, all downtown and even Fort Sumter is within walking distance (to ferry port)
Excellent hotel in downtown Charleston. We walked to everything. Sense of history without outdated facilities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

in the heart of Charleston

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: location, staff
Cons: bathroom lighting
Location: great city, restaurants, shopping, walking
Pleasant staff, sizeable room, lighting in bathroom not quite bright enough. 2nd time we have stayed will do it again.
4 out of 5
by Robert from Exeter

Historic Charleston

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
Four days in historic Charleston. We enjoyed walking the historic streets of ante-bellum Charleston
5 out of 5
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Planters Inn

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing could be improved.
Location: Being in the historic area of Charleston, I cannot even begin to tell of everything there was to do.
Perfect experience. Everything was taken care of for us, even umbrellas when it rained. It was much better than I had expected.