Ratings based on 738 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Hotel great restaurant marginal; tremendous location
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Location is excellent Convenient to everything Beautiful hotel Coconut cake from the Peninsula Grill was fantastic
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Excellent high end place to stay

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Just about everything - food, service, rooms etc.
Cons: See our desk staff comments
Location: Hotel is very conveniently located in old town giving access to tours and tour arrangements and wide variety of shopping opportunities within walking
Overall excellent experience. Some caveats. Two desk staff on three occasions agreed to make tour, taxi and dinner arrangements and reservations and did not do as requested even though they told us they had. Very disappointing and inconvenient for us. Hence missed one tour and were unable go to dinner at restaurant of choice. On day of checking out discovered that the pick-up confirmation we had made and were told by desk staff had been had not actually been made. Recommend that the management of the hotel update their desk staff on what they MUST do for guests on reasonable requests such as ours. Otherwise most desk staff were extremely helpful and efficient.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coeur d'Alene, ID

Beautiful Hotel but No VIP Benefits

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Gorgeous property but if you are going to promote yourself as a VIP property you should follow through!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classic Charleston hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Nice hotel but not exactly your taste. limited amenities. No covered parking. You get wet if it's raining. No in room mini fridge. Closet is in bathroom which is very inconvenient. It does have old fashioned charm, a great location, and is clean. Recommended if you like that style but there are small issues
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Boutique hotel, just fabulous!

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Cons: We would have used a fitness center
Stayed for 4 nights at the Planters Inn for an anniversary weekend away--staff was wonderful & attentive. Rooms were romantic & comfortable. We received a bottle of champagne for our anniversary upon arrival--just always made us feel special. Location is convenient--you are located directly across from main Charleston market. The Peninsula Grill, located on site, was our best dinner of our vacation. My husband and I walked everywhere! Charleston is just a great city to visit!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warrenton, VA

Perfect location and ambiance for Charleston

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Wonderful and charming hotel. Quiet with simple elegance. Perfect location for upscale dining and shopping. Wonderful staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel: The hotel is simple great.

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: The comfort, location and service.
Cons: I would not change a thing.
Location: The hotel is in the historical district, walking distance to the famous historical markers and events, a wide array of dining is nearby. J
The hotel is exceptional. The food is terrific, the service flawless, the room was quiet, clean, terrific accommodations and service. The location is perfect [corner of Meeting and Market street]. Easy walking distance to great locations, entertainment and dining.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, perfect room

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Stayed in King junior suite. Beautifully appointed, large bathroom. Great staff but sometimes it seemed they were understaffed at the front desk. Will stay here again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Great staff, great room, will return! Bar staff was excellent as well!