Ratings based on 749 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
This hotel is simply lovely. The epitome of southern grace and charm.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from memphis, tn

Perfect size, perfect location

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Location is prime and yet hotel feels tucked away. Room was spacious and attached restaraunt Penninsula Grill is fantastic.
Cons: Only thing any better would have been gym on site but walking to nearby gym wasn't big deal - would recommend including $10 gym usage in fee as option for booking - this is minor thing though - hotel awesome - we will be back
Location: Central location between East Bay and King Street where most great restaraunts and shops located - right across street from main Charleston Market
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Cozy room, great service!

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Overall, pleasant stay and the Planters Inn. Our room was quite small but still very nice and the beds were very comfortable! It was a bit noisy where we were located. The bathroom tub/shower needs updating. It's very uninviting due to the stains and just appeared dirty, although it's just from the age. Overall, we would return but will stay in a larger room and request a less noisy area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Excellent in all respects

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: Charleston Market had a number of quality merchandise. Restaurants recommended were outstanding. Carriage and harbor tours were great.
We couldn't have been more pleased than we were during our stay at the Planters Inn this past weekend. From the staff behind the desk to the gentlemen who got our car for us and our luggage, they were all very pleasant and helpful. The room was spotless and very comfortable. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Hotel great restaurant marginal; tremendous location
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Location is excellent Convenient to everything Beautiful hotel Coconut cake from the Peninsula Grill was fantastic
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Excellent high end place to stay

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Just about everything - food, service, rooms etc.
Cons: See our desk staff comments
Location: Hotel is very conveniently located in old town giving access to tours and tour arrangements and wide variety of shopping opportunities within walking
Overall excellent experience. Some caveats. Two desk staff on three occasions agreed to make tour, taxi and dinner arrangements and reservations and did not do as requested even though they told us they had. Very disappointing and inconvenient for us. Hence missed one tour and were unable go to dinner at restaurant of choice. On day of checking out discovered that the pick-up confirmation we had made and were told by desk staff had been had not actually been made. Recommend that the management of the hotel update their desk staff on what they MUST do for guests on reasonable requests such as ours. Otherwise most desk staff were extremely helpful and efficient.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coeur d'Alene, ID

Beautiful Hotel but No VIP Benefits

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Gorgeous property but if you are going to promote yourself as a VIP property you should follow through!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classic Charleston hotel

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Nice hotel but not exactly your taste. limited amenities. No covered parking. You get wet if it's raining. No in room mini fridge. Closet is in bathroom which is very inconvenient. It does have old fashioned charm, a great location, and is clean. Recommended if you like that style but there are small issues
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Boutique hotel, just fabulous!

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Cons: We would have used a fitness center
Stayed for 4 nights at the Planters Inn for an anniversary weekend away--staff was wonderful & attentive. Rooms were romantic & comfortable. We received a bottle of champagne for our anniversary upon arrival--just always made us feel special. Location is convenient--you are located directly across from main Charleston market. The Peninsula Grill, located on site, was our best dinner of our vacation. My husband and I walked everywhere! Charleston is just a great city to visit!