Ratings based on 770 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Close to Everything!

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Simply put, we liked everything!
Cons: It's hard to comment about improvements, since we found nothing that interfered with a wonderful stay.
Location: Shopping galore, restaurants of every genre and the historic/romantic ambience that is Charleston is right outside the door!
This was our second stay at Planters Inn, the first celebrating our 20th anniversary and this time celebrating our 40th! The Inn did not disappoint in any way. From the moment we arrived and the valet met us at the curb, the staff took great care of us throughout our stay. Our room was spacious, well appointed and offered everything we needed to ensure a wonderful experience. The Inn's location at the historic City Market puts you at the center of everything Charleston...shopping, restaurants and the waterfront. Hopefully, we'll be back before we celebrate our 60th!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Great location in central Charleston

Posted May 1, 2017
In short, wonderful hotel. Extremely helpful staff, awesome location. I'll be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Luxury hotel in the center of historic district

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Luxury accommodations; easy access to everything in town. Coffee, tea, snacks, and water in sitting area throughout the day make guests feel at home.
Location: Center location does mean evening traffic/noise, which dies down eventually. Local market, modern shops, and two breakfast cafes are steps away.
For our second visit to Charleston, we knew we wanted to stay in the heart of the historic district with its easy access to the waterfront, restaurants, shops, and historic sites. The Planters Inn offered the perfect combination of access and retreat. Service was superb from arrival to departure. Doormen, front desk staff, and room attendants were friendly, helpful, and professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Valparaiso, IN

Charming downtown Charleston hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Fantastic location, beautiful hotel, and great service! Every employee was eager to assist with anything we needed. Close to several wonderful restaurants, and literally across the street from the famous market. Super easy to get to and from the airport as well. Another bonus was that the beds were extremely comfortable. We will definitely go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming Historic Inn

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: I liked the location and the decor.
The Planter's Inn is a lovely charming Inn. The rooms are elegantly furnished. The staff was very polite and accommodating. I look forward to returning, hopefully sooner than later.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful - especially Korey, the bartender at the Peninsula Grill, who helped make our trip a success with great suggestions on things to do and places to see. Had a wonderful stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This Hotel location can't be beat.

Posted Mar 2, 2017
The hotel staff were very attentive and courteous. We were able to request and get a room on the 4th floor in the original building. The Pennisula Grill was very accommodating for our special occasion and requests. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

First time to Charleston.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Life is good
Location: See above
Staff was very helpful. We found a nice craft beer bar - Craftsman, and they gave us great recommendations for dinner. Paw Paw was awesome - gnocci was a must said my wife. I loved the bolognaise. The second night we went to Amen - the food was excellent there also. Great and informative trip to Fort Sumpter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tennessee

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: not be so expensive.
Location: anything you want to do, period.
most cordial employees and process for check in and check out is phenomenal. food was beyond belief. Will stay here again next year. bill askins
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Located right in the middle of the French Quarter

Posted Feb 23, 2017
We had a fabulous time at the Planter Inn!! Super staff, great bar and classy restaurant. Be sure to try the Coconut Cake and the Southern Manhattan, you won't believe the experience..