Ratings based on 1,702 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clermont, FL

Great location

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: The location and the staff
Cons: The cleaning services
Location: Downtown Charleston, Patriots Point
This hotel is just 10 minutes away from downtown Charleston. There are 2 gas stations (maybe more... not sure) within 5-10 minute drive from the hotel, and plenty of grocery stores and general stores (CVS, Walgreens, etc.) nearby. This locations does not have dining services, and only premium rooms over fridges (which I didn't know, but I didn't research it all that much prior to going). The only truly negative thing I have to say is that the housekeeping wasn't that great. There was one time when they had obviously been in the room because the beds were made up, but they did not restock us with towels, toilet paper, soap, or tissues. It was also quite obvious that they did not clean the sheets after each night (maybe I'm spoiled, but I like clean sheets).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

missing basic amenities

Posted Jul 15, 2017
We were only there for a couple of nights with a group of friends. Front desk was very friendly and responsive to our requests but basic amenities you expect were not available; iron, coffee, clean towels, tissues, pen, paper, working clock, etc. Not impressed with housekeeping at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Terrible Hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Charleston, SC there are a lot of things to do, and we did them away from Red Roof Hotel
Our experience was terrible the room had mold around the AC Unit, the bed sheets were not clean, it would appear that the bed was not made, only the blankets were thrown back across the bed. The bathroom was not cleaned, the entire room was a complete nightmare. I would not recommend a family member or friend to visit or stay at Red Roof Inn. I would not visit any other sites because of this experience. The desk clerk assured us that our funds would be back in my account with 48 hours, the funds did not go back into my account until 5 days later, very disappointing as it took less than 2 minutes to place a hold on my account and 5 days to return this was just a nightmare for me, the worst experience I have every endured involving a hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel. Good location to downtown or beach

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: location and nice pool
Cons: Its a motel !!
Location: 10 minutes to the bridge and downtown Charleston and 10 mins to Sullivan's Island beach
It is a motel....not a hotel. People are nice and work hard to keep it in good shape
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Value hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Great value for price. Hotel allows workers from Sticky Fingers restaurant to stay which can sometimes cause late night noise. Hit or miss.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pets stay free, close to everything.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pet friendly, able to bring the dog. The rooms are nice, if you paid around $15/night more, you got a mini fridge, microwave and coffee pot. Pool was nice, central location to everything.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

BUISNESS.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Room was hot, dirty and beds were not made properly. Looked like someone laid on top of them. Carpet filthy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Look above @ our experience lines
Cons: CLEAN UP THE OUTSIDE GROUNDS & PARKING LOTPages Rest
Location: Pages's restau.; Waters Edge restau. Tea Plantation, City Market, Water Taxi, USS Yorktown.'
Well located. Alligator in pond VERY NEAR the path in front of swings. Nice, do-over property but we found the outside grounds & lot full of debree & cig. butts
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience, we appreciate the feedback while we work on improving our guests experiences.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel but great location

Posted May 22, 2017
The rooms are very very small compared to other RRI we have stayed in. However they are fine for sleeping and it's a great location in the middle of my pleasant. Easy access to all the areas including downtown
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Longs, SC

Location was good

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: THey would have to rebuild this place to improve on it.
Location: WE come to Mt Pleasant often, my wife is treated at MUSC. The location is very near the bridge to Charleston. Many fine resturants.
The only thing this hotel had going for it was it's location. I considered the room on the small side for two people. They noise level was terrible I woke in the middle of the night to snoring from the person in the next room. Walls are paper thin. If that wasn't bad enough the hotel allows pets which were in the room on the other side of us and every time they heard a noise outside they barked like crazy. Which is another thing you could here every thing going on outside. My last complaint would be the location of the only ice machine for the entire site. Quite a distance from the location of my room. Ideal if you stayed at the south side of the hotel, We stay in Mt Pleasant anytime we come to Charleston, which is at least 6 times / year. We will never book at this place again or recommend it to friends