Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

An O.K. hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2017
This is a good hotel for a short stay. Reasonable distance from activities. Easy acces by a car. Self parking just across the street.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel renovation is noisy

Posted Dec 5, 2016
They tell you at check in about the construction on the 6th floor. But the jackhammering reverberated throughout the entire hotel. If you're not there during the day, you will be OK since construction only occurs 9-5.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2016 by Heather G., Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we are excited for the amazing changes this will bring we do understand that the noise from renovation can be distracting at times. Thank you again for sharing and we hope to have you back once it is completed so you can see the new and revitalized Charleston Renaissance!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here. Terrible management and amenities

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Are you KIDDING me! We spent $400 per night for this hotel which at best is of average roadside hotel caliber. From the point we checked in, we should have been tipped off to problems. Despite our 7pm arrival, they had to search hard to find a clean room. Our room was fully paid for on Hotels.com for 3 nights, but after the second night we received a receipt for check out under our door and discovered another full charge for our room directly from the hotel. I had to visit the desk and they again struggled with their system to confirm my pre-payment and 3 (not 2) nights stay. Our room was very disappointing with hard beds, no free wifi, stains on the bed spreads, and missing items from the coffee station. On our third day, we noticed our room had not been cleaned by 3pm, so I called the front desk. They said it is not uncommon for rooms to be cleaned until 5pm, but they took my room number down to be sure. Well, needless to say, we never had our room cleaned. We have stayed at other hotels in Charleston, and all have been far better than this hotel. Look elsewhere and you will find free wifi, free breakfast, and wine receptions in the afternoon. I don't feel the southern hospitality here that you find in the city. The only positive part of the stay was the doormen who were very friendly and helpful. Do yourself a favor, and DO NOT STAY HERE!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely and comfortable Charleston hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was super friendly and helpful to us getting around town. Very professional and always upbeat.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable & clean hotel.

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
A comfortable stay, average everything really, but price reflected that.Pleasant staff. Room smelt musty but was clean, roomy & the bed was comfy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient location for shopping and dining

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel seemed a little outdated in comparison to when I stayed there about seven years ago maybe a little old and needing some freshening up in the rooms too and the hallways kind of had a funny smell.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
Service was not up to Renaissance.
4 out of 5
by Alan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Pat

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels