Ratings based on 371 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

Good location is the biggest perk

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The rooms are pretty average. There were more negatives than positives. Charges for wifi, parking, and our room didn't get cleaned until after 5pm. Definitely not the quality of service I would have expected for the price. Also our room was on the 3rd floor and the full length windows were overlooking the pool (literally lookin directly at it, and everyone at the pool could see into our room). There has to be something they could do (like window treatments), so it it possible to have the blinds open and some semblance of privacy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Cruces, NM

Good hotel, great location

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: The location was excellent, the staff was more than hospitable, especially the housekeeping staff. The breakfasts each morning were delicious.
Cons: Communicating to guests the parking situation. I did the self park and I still paid $20 a day for parking. I was under the impression it was included.
Location: Tons of restaurants, shopping and historical sightseeing. ALL within walking distance.
I returned to visit Charleston after 23 years away and it did not disappoint. I decided to vacation with my wife and two small children. We found the accommodations very pleasing. I will say that staying in a luxury hotel with small children (2 & 5) are not the best mix, but we made the most of it and the wife was happy throughout the duration.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SouTex

Great location, but...

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, service
Cons: Room service. A/C.
Perfect location for easy walking access to best of Charleston's historic and culinary treasures. No car required. Front staff outstanding. Room struggled to stay cool in summer heat. Had to request room service two of five nights - not sure why we were simply skipped. Ultimately handled when requested, but disappointing when we returned from long day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great safe central location.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The hotel itself is very beautiful and seemed recently renovated. Of couple of things that could have made it better, we requested a crib and we're provided a pack and play. This is not the same thing and had we know we would have booked a different hotel. Our room smelled like someone had smoked in there before. The heat index in the city was around 105 and our room never felt cool!! It felt like 80 all 4 days in our room! And our hotel amenities were not explained to us when we checked in. We had no idea where anything was or if we had wifi. The staff all around was very friendly though, everyone in the city was extremely friendly!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Top notch hotel in the middle of historic Charleston.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Great location right off King Street. Staff attentive and friendly. Restaurant under renovation so no dinner served and breakfast offering was minimal and unimpressive and seating limited.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware Valley

Hospitality at it's best.

Posted May 9, 2017
Couldn't have had an easier visit here. Great job Renaissance!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

An O.K. hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2017
This is a good hotel for a short stay. Reasonable distance from activities. Easy acces by a car. Self parking just across the street.
4 out of 5
by Roger

Good location in Charleston...

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Good facility, very helpful staff, great location...
5 out of 5
by john

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
Good