Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean Comfortable & Close By

Posted May 19, 2017
Location: The city of Charleston is not a place that I felt completely comfortable. Would have liked a better restaurant, but couldn't find anything nice.
Nice staff, very clean hotel in a nice, quiet area. I had a plane to catch at 6:00 am, and it was less than 5 minutes away from the airport. A little tricky to get to because it's on top of a hill, but it's very nice once you find it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

No parking

Posted Apr 13, 2017
The parking lot was completely full requiring guests to park on the street. There is no provision for cars with trailers or trucks. Recommend against staying in this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Sarah

Delightfull

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
The Lady that checked us in was absolutely delightful after a very long day. The room was very nice and she gave a us a great view of the city. We will be back.
4 out of 5
by Carol

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
We traveled from Michigan and met our children from North Carolina for a Christmas gathering. The space gave us ample room to celebrate, open gifts and spend quality time with our family. The dog barking was a bit disturbing - we don't have pets, so not fond of sharing my sleeping space with them. Would prefer to have an option of a no-pet floor. Highly allergic to cats: Didn't realize it was a pet-friendly hotel. Thankfully, no issues with that. Breakfast area was lacking in cleanliness and no silverware (had to ask at front desk - but promptly taken care of). Because it is a great half-way point for us to meet, we will most likely come back. Rooms could use some upgrading in the meantime. Please note: I share these tips more from the viewpoint of I would want to know if I owned/managed this property than from a complaint standpoint. It worked well for our purpose.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Carol, Thank you for your comments, and thanks in advance for trying us again. Greg
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Friendly staff. Great that my doggies were welcomed! Very much enjoyed the stay
5 out of 5
by Shannon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good stop and pet friendly.

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Friendly and engaging staff. Would use again when in town.
5 out of 5
by Barbara from churchville, va

Worth the money!

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Hotels
What a great stay! The suite was perfect for me and my 16 year old son. Two seperate bedrooms with a common room/kitchen between. The fitness room was small but well stocked (water, towels, etc) and featured two treadmills and an elliptical machine-perfect! The breakfast was all fresh made and hot-everything from waffles to bacon to sausage gravy and biscuits to fruit-better than any restaurant! And very helpful, smiling staff!
5 out of 5
by Daniel from Columbus

On the Mountain Top

Posted Dec 1, 2015 on Hotels
We will be back! Enjoy the quietness and was still a few minutes from downtown mall.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not my first choice.

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Room had a musty oder to it. Kind of what one would expect in the average motel along the interstate, not in a hotel in this price range. Room was dated looking and the carpet was not what I would walk barefoot on. Room was clean, just not up to standards of a 'better' hotel. Breakfast buffet was good though. Lobby was clean and inviting. Staff was very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2015 by Greg, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn. We are sorry for the condition of your room. Thank you for your comments regarding our staff. I will make sure that housekeeping is aware of your comments. It would be most helpful to know the room number so we could address this issue. Once again thank you for choosing Residence Inn.