Ratings based on 684 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick stop.

Posted Jan 22, 2016
I took my wife to The Water's Edge for dinner to celebrate her birthday. Since we live about an hour's drive away and had enjoyed our meal and lingered, we decided to stay at the next door hotel - the Shem Creek Inn. I booked online via Expedia and we walked over at the end of our meal. Check-in was quick, easy, and fun - with a polite, efficient staffer. Our room was large, well-appointed, and comfortable. The view of Shem Creek from our balcony was spectacular. The pool looked nice, though it was too cold to enjoy. The Water's Edge 'Cabana Bar' was right below, and though somewhat busy, it presented no noise problem. I moved my car from the restaurant to the covered parking at the hotel. In the morning, we took advantage of the continental breakfast, which was adequate. We are planning a return trip for my summertime birthday!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2016 by Kyle W., Hotel Management
Thank you for the excellent 5-star review ZonieDiver! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, from the check-in experience to your room accommodations. The view here of Shem Creek is unparalleled, and the sound proof sliding glass door ensures every guest can enjoy themselves. Thank you for making us apart of the birthday celebration and we look forward to seeing you again in the summer!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Posted Jan 17, 2016
My only complaint is the mattress was to soft. Otherwise it was a great place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2016 by Kyle W., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us Paula! I am glad you enjoyed your time here and even got a beautiful picture of the sun setting over the marsh. We hope to see you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Close to downtown, clean and friendly environment. Good deal overall!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2016 by Kyle W., Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

good location-restaurants next door

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: more choices for breakfast
Location: wide variety of food choices nearby. only 10-15 minutes to the oceanfront.
The room was not small, not large- staff was helpful, parking was very tight. no noise, no interruptions. We could use the stairs, since there were only two floors of rooms, plus a small amount of parking underneath.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2016 by James, Hotel Management
Thank you for the detailed review Lewis! We are definitely working on ways that we can expand our breakfast options with the current space that we have and hope you will come by again in the future. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from westfield Nj

Great location

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Great location, near the water and many restaurants around the area
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2016 by James, Hotel Management
Thank you for the short and sweet review Bell!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from delaware

Great location

Posted Dec 24, 2015
Loved the ambiance! Very quaint but nice and relaxing location!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2015 by James, Hotel Management
Thank you for the short and sweet review Sandy! Hope you come back and see us soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Shem Creek inn

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Place was ok, the restaurant next door was fab - super fresh oysters right on water. Certainly not downtown Charleston but close enough
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2015 by James, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. We are glad the location and surrounding restaurants met your expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia

Nice hotel, great location.

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Great location to see the parade. The sliding door lock did not lock.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2015 by James, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about the lock not working. Our engineering staff will ensure that it is replaced right away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Katherine from Upstate NY

Quiet stay on the creek.

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
The breakfast is nothing to write home about but there are fabulous restaurants nearby to whet your appetite. Definitely not a luxury stay but location is central to everything and two restaurants are within walking distance. (Next door).
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2015 by James, Hotel Management
We are glad to hear that you found the location of our hotel to be perfect for your needs. The Shem Creek area is a must see when visiting the Charleston area and we are glad to hear that you agree!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Steve

Adequate. You get what you pay for.

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
We looked forward to the location, seeing a long boardwalk in the marsh available. This is the best part of the hotel. Birding is awesome there. The hotel needs an upgrade--throughout. Not a lot of pride evident. The ice machine smells like something died under it. Neglect is everywhere, but you expect wear in an old hotel by the water. But that means repairs and attention to cleaning is even more important and these folks don't get it. The dock is under construction so you can't walk it. Birds were swimming in the pool, and doing the doo thing. The breakfast was a joke (no eggs, refrig broke, cereal empty, and pancake maker spits out these dollar size tidbits that nobody can explain, no fruit, and only sugar free syrup). I know it's the end of the season, however jaded front desk hardly ever look up from their computers or smart phones games. The manager is friendly; however, I watched them deny a poor woman a request for an extension on the 11 a.m. checkout with 2/3 of hotel empty citing they had gone over "the limit" (of 4) already. This was preposterous and she left in tears. The manager defended the policy citing responsibility to the people checking in later. That was just a load of bs but was certainly evidence of the way folks have been trained and the attitudes encouraged. For our room, it was adequate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2015 by James, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience Steve. We apologize for the lack of offerings for breakfast during your stay with us. As you did mention, we experienced a few days in which our refrigeration unit had gone down and we were unable to keep some of our breakfast offerings at a safe temperature which forced us to discard them until we received the replacement unit. With regard to the situation with the guest who requested a late checkout, they had requested the use of the room until 2pm for a conference call, to which I offered to allow them the use of our boardroom at no cost. While we try very hard to ensure we can say yes to any request a guest might have, we must make responsible decisions that allow us to provide great service to all guests. Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to provide this feedback and hope you may consider giving us another try in the future.