Ratings based on 816 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Clean
Very clean and nice room. Front desk was very friendly and helpful. Strongly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by Kyle W., Hotel Management
Thank you for the excellent review and for your recommendation! We can't wait to see you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Simpsonville

Great hotel close to restaurants, and activites.

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: It is newly renovated and very nice.
Location: It is very close to everything.
The renovations on this hotel were much better than I could have expected. It is very close to all the Shem Creek restaurants, kayaking and other water activities. We had a great time and we look forward to our next visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Kyle W., Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share such a positive review. Our entire team is pleased to hear that you loved all the hard work and planning that was done to create our newly renovated hotel. We look forward to being able to host you again in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view and great location.

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Excellent stay and time here. Loved the newly remodeled hotel!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by Kyle W., Hotel Management
Thanks for the great review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice updated hotel on Shem Creek

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: We liked the location and updated facilities.
We stayed in a clean and comfortable room with a nicely remodeled bathroom. Walk to several restaurants and pleasant boardwalk to walk through the marshes and past the shrimping boats. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Kyle W., Hotel Management
Thanks for the excellent 5-Star review! We appreciate you choosing to be our guest and for taking the time to share with everyone how much you enjoyed your stay here. We look forward to seeing you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Great location. Staff were nice and very helpful. Excellent place to unwind.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2017 by Kyle W., Hotel Management
Thanks for the great 5-Star review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta ,ga

A different type of hotel that is locally run .

Posted Apr 6, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay . The staff is friendly and helpful . The inn has been newly renovated and is very charming . The rooms are spacious . The lobby is lovely with a great view and a nice place to have breakfast . The pool is in a great setting . It's a wonderful place to use as a base to explore the surrounding area .
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Kyle W., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback Rebecca! We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at our charming Inn. Come back and see us soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Huntersville

A Return Visit to Shem Creek

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Great location
Cons: MA
Location: Visited both the Waters Edge and Vickery's for dinner. Loved them both.
We had a great time at Mt. Pleasant/Charleston with a return stay at Shem Creek Inn. We fully appreciated their remodeling of guest rooms and the lobby. Shem Creek is a great Inn with a fabulous location but this time I wasn't pleased with the location of the room they gave us. I requested creek side, which this was, but it was room 116 and the balcony is only a few feet from the swimming pool. Our first day was a lovely, warm day so we had lots of company (no privacy ) on the balcony. The next time we visit, I will speak with the inn directly to be sure we get the room we want.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Kyle W., Hotel Management
Thanks for choosing to return to us after our renovations Jo! The dining options here on Shem Creek are a huge bonus to all of our guests. We apologize about the location of the room you had during this stay, some guest truly enjoy being so close to the activity on the pool deck. Never the less, definitely reach out to us directly the next time you choose to stay with us and we will be happy to put your request in for a specific location. Thank you for continuing to be our guest!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Front desk staff was fantastic. Breakfast was good. New rooms are great. Unfortunately, there was some hair in the bathroom. If that wasn't there, I would have given them a perfect score.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by Kyle W., Hotel Management
Thank you for kind words about our staff and the upgrades we completed. On behalf of myself and the entire Shem Creek Inn team I apologize for issue you experienced. It is our mission to provide each guest with a perfect stay, and I hope that the next time you are in the area we can do so for you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Nice hotel by wonderful waterfront bars.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Nice hotel by wonderful waterfront bars and seafood (including "The wreck of Richard and Charlene." Just completed big renovation, so were offering free drinks at registration! Couple of minor glitches with room equipment, but I'm confident they will fix those. I would readily go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Kyle W., Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review Merlin! Thank you for choosing to stay with us so soon after we reopened, and we appreciate the understanding as we worked out the kinks that come with reopening after a major renovation. We are excited to hear that you will readily return to us, and we are always available to help plan your next trip.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location and laid back

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel in general was nice. Room was spacious but could use an update. Shower was roomie but tub could we redone. The views are awesome if you get the creek balcony view. The first thing I noticed was the smell. The room smelled nice. It didn't have a moldy or old smell to it. I appreciated that.