Ratings based on 890 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Nice older hotel in good area

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: I liked the size of the room and it was clean. The amenities were good but since there was a fridge for a small microwave would have helped
Cons: Better awareness by check in staff of wait times, improved elevators, microwave in the unit, maids adhering to checkout times.
Location: great restaurants and shopping with walking distance
I had some issues will checking in. I arrived about an hour and a half early but was told they would have my room soon and they would text me when it was ready. It was rainy and I had been travelling since 5 am so I was wet and tired but was ok with a short wait. I never heard back from the hotel by checkin time so I went to inquire and was told the room still wasn't ready but they would check on it. That clerk never returned but instead a different clerk checked me in. I realized after check in that my room was closest to the elevator and that most likely the last one done on that floor even though I had been waiting. I also was displeased with the elevators. One was being used as a service elevator for my entire stay so the lines were long. Also, the elevator stops at the 4th floor every trip for some reason. The room was nice but a small microwave would have been perfect on top of the fridge. On checkout the maid entered my room at 9 am even though checkout is at noon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, convenient location.

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Everything except the small bathroom
Very nice hotel with all of the amenities. Convenient location with excellent service. Great restaurant in the Swamp Fox. You can catch a trolley across the street.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Not a great hotel. Old and dated. Room was very small, and the sink had no counter space.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island

Posted Sep 11, 2016
fantastic location, convenient to all. A great concierge
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Nice. Very small bathroom. Nice room. Nice sheets.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Great view from window over the park. A couple of negatives though. Housekeeping came onnour second day just asked what we needed and didn't come back to service room. On our check out day housekeeping kept coming to our door before we had chrcked out to service it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Francis Marion - an ok hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs to be updated
Location: Location was great, Starbucks within a hotel!
The overall hotel was ok, just that - ok...not impressive by any means, very 'blah' stuff with no excitement or eagerness to help. Ok rooms, old but not unclean. The only awesome thing about this hotel is the location, its right in the middle of King's street.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Great hotel. Friendly helpful staff. Perfect location for all the downtown tourist attractions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Perfect location

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Location, staff, overall very well maintained hotel. Enjoyed everything except the bathroom. It is very, very small...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Disappointed

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Did not accommodate our reservation request for 3 people 2 beds Initially they said they would then they checked we did not book direct they changed their statement Room had queen bed and sofa pull out. When opened mattress was the thickness of about 6 inches or less and was not appealing in appearance or smell . Again called to request another room with two beds first were told sure then returned to line and stated since we did not book direct they could not change our room. Needless to say we all managed to sleep in the one bed. Was hoping to show my best friend from out of state and her daughter a little bit of Charleston charm by staying here but was so disappointed