Ratings based on 2,805 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Very good stay

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Very nice hotel on a very popular street in downtown Charleston. The staff was very nice and helpful, and the lobby was very grand. The room was clean and nice. Lots of space. ONLY complaint is that it's not closer to most of the restaurants and tour sites in town, but if you can walk approx. a mile each way, then there is no problem.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Everything was great except room noises. If you stay this hotel, you can listen to the conversation of neighbors precisely. Basically, however, the quality of this hotel was high.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location in Charleston

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: It's location, preservation and comfort.
Cons: Front desk staff affability.
Location: I was not a tourist so I can't speak to this other than to say it is in downtown Charleston...not too far from the historic district.
I enjoyed my one night stay at the hotel after a bit of confusion was cleared up about my reservation. When I arrived the person on duty couldn't find my expedia made reservation in the computer, although my husband had called about two hours before from the road and had been assured that we had one. Eventually someone found the reservation which had been filed under my middle name by expedia, for some unknown reason. During this time when my tired husband and I waited, the staff did not offer the amenities that were present in the lobby...ice water and, I think coffee and tea, nor did they apologize for the confusion. The bell boys, however, were delightful and eager to be helpful. The room was very comfortable and clean. This is an old hotel which has been redecorated thoughtfully. I am glad it has been preserved and would recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in the heart of the city.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, United States of America

Awesome location

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Hotel has Starbucks on premises. Very close to shopping and restaurants. Friendly staff. Parking is additional
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel close to everything!

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Nice room, great staff, valet parking super! Shopping and great restaurants just steps away from the front door. Highly recommend it!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel on a great street.

Posted Nov 24, 2016
The hotel is on King st where one can walk to several great bars and eateries.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from va.

A Grand Hotel Experience!

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Room 1008, the view, bed, spaciousness, and staff. Upgrade was magnificent. Doormen were helpful. Swamp Fox restaurant's complimentary bot of wine
Cons: Nada, zip
Location: Food, shops activity nearby; also Jack's Cafe for Breakfast
One night comfortable stay; very comfortable. View superb, staff friendly. Free upgrade will bring me back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Perfect location but older hotel. It's not a bad or ugly hotel at all. You just have to embrace the age as its charm. You can see it in the elevators, the windows, etc. The bathroom is very small, especially the toilet seat. An optimist would say it's a European style bathroom. A pessimist would say it's way too tight. Beds are comfortable, but the two queen room is definitely too fulls. Don't expect to sleep in. It wasn't a problem for us but any noise from the park across the street will stream right into your room. Service was all good though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Good location for walking.

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Wonderful staff.
Cons: Bathtub very old and rustly.
Location: Lots of restaurants , shopping, and easy access to trolley.
Easy to locate and when I did not like my first room which faced the roof of the building next door and loud they moved me with no problem.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Comfy beds.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Beds, spacious rooms.
Cons: Bathrooms extremely tiny but very old building so I get it.
Location: Within walking distance of everything.
The beds, pillows and linens are top quality. Nothing like a good night sleep. Bar, lounge right downstairs inviting.