Ratings based on 2,755 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Beware of Small Rooms

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: The room we had was too small and was a little the worse for wear.
We had booked what we thought was a larger queen or king room. Upon check-in, we were told we couldn't get that room because we booked through a third party. We were ultimately put in a room that had a queen-size bed and tub, per our preference...but it was extremely cramped. The bathroom, in particular, looked a little the worse for wear, and, like the rest of the room, extremely small. The hotel is well-located, and we had stayed here once before and were pleased with our accommodations. Not this time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from atlanta, ga

Great location. Excellent staff.

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Conveniently located to all historic locations and restaurants.
Great historic hotel. Staff very knowledgeable. Couldn't have been more helpful. Loved our stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cumming GA

Wonderful Experience....

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Location perfect, walked to Magnolias Restaurant for lunch, rode back in a "wrikshaw", took a fun horse drawn carriage ride to hear all about history.
Our room was fabulous, view was spectacular, valet parking appreciated, Swamp Fox Restaurant delectable....
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, we could have had a larger room.

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Location: Great location in the downtown Charleston area
Would have liked a larger room with a sitting area. The valet service was great and on time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Nice older hotel in good area

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: I liked the size of the room and it was clean. The amenities were good but since there was a fridge for a small microwave would have helped
Cons: Better awareness by check in staff of wait times, improved elevators, microwave in the unit, maids adhering to checkout times.
Location: great restaurants and shopping with walking distance
I had some issues will checking in. I arrived about an hour and a half early but was told they would have my room soon and they would text me when it was ready. It was rainy and I had been travelling since 5 am so I was wet and tired but was ok with a short wait. I never heard back from the hotel by checkin time so I went to inquire and was told the room still wasn't ready but they would check on it. That clerk never returned but instead a different clerk checked me in. I realized after check in that my room was closest to the elevator and that most likely the last one done on that floor even though I had been waiting. I also was displeased with the elevators. One was being used as a service elevator for my entire stay so the lines were long. Also, the elevator stops at the 4th floor every trip for some reason. The room was nice but a small microwave would have been perfect on top of the fridge. On checkout the maid entered my room at 9 am even though checkout is at noon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, convenient location.

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Everything except the small bathroom
Very nice hotel with all of the amenities. Convenient location with excellent service. Great restaurant in the Swamp Fox. You can catch a trolley across the street.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Not a great hotel. Old and dated. Room was very small, and the sink had no counter space.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island

Posted Sep 11, 2016
fantastic location, convenient to all. A great concierge
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Nice. Very small bathroom. Nice room. Nice sheets.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Great view from window over the park. A couple of negatives though. Housekeeping came onnour second day just asked what we needed and didn't come back to service room. On our check out day housekeeping kept coming to our door before we had chrcked out to service it.