Ratings based on 2,959 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

My home in Charleston

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: Location and friendly staff
Cons: Can' think of one
Location: Park, shopping, historic neighborhoods
Have stayed many times-all wonderful. Left my laptop, TIM Williams quickly found it and sent it next day to me! Great service, nice people!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect access to historical Charleston

Posted May 24, 2017
Everything about the hotel is great. I would stay here again without hesitation. Advice: 1) parking is not connected to the hotel so unload first & 2) the bus lines has 3 buses that are called "Dash" and they are free. One of the stops is right across the street on King & Calhoun. Jump on the bus, get a route flyer, get off the bus & use the flyer to plan your day!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Should have been better

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: See above.
We had two rooms. Neither received maid service during the stay. One of the rooms had problems with the key not working and finally after 3 trips to the desk they sent a maintenance person, who was able to resolve it. The walls are paper thin and we felt like we were part of a party in the next room. Hallway noise also. Older windows also made it very noisy from the nightlife outside - even though we were on the 8th floor. Bathroom was very cramped with no place to put toilet kits or toothbrushes and small items.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dated but full of character and clean.

Posted May 3, 2017
Pros: Large room, free wifi, has character
Cons: Decor and furnishings need updating.
Location: Shops on King Street just outside your door and close to historic district. Walgreens opposite. Starbucks attached to hotel. Parking easy to maneuver
We arrived earlier than check-in time and the front desk agent was very helpful and welcoming. We were fortunate to be given a lovely large bedroom with a king-sized bed. It was spacious, had 2 small but full bathrooms which I've never seen before. Was very convenient as we could both shower at the same time (without being in the same shower) :-) The room also had a desk, a separate counter top for coffee machine/general use and a coffee table with two armchairs. There were plenty of sockets and extension cords for our computers/phones etc which was a nice touch since it is an old hotel and wouldn't have had these built in. We had no view except a roof and another guest room 8' or so away but we weren't in the room for that. Free wifi was also a plus. Self car parking in the parking lot adjacent to the hotel is $17 for hotel guests (with in/out privileges) or you can valet for $22 but then there's the tip for the valet each time you go out..this adds up. There was a coupon for a free bottle of wine if purchasing 2 entrees at the restaurant downstairs which was another welcome plus. Dinner there was very good and reasonably priced. Breakfast not so much.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga

In the heart of Charleston

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: I loved its elegant charm and true southern hospitality.
Location: Charleston is a walking city. Everything you could ever want or think you may want can be reached with a short 5 minute stroll.
Exceptional service began when we drove up. Tylor our Bellmen were there to unload the car and stayed through check in. Holly at the front desk was quick and we were in the room within 10 min of our arrival. The room was spacious and our view overlooking Charleston Harbor was great. The food in the hotels restaurant, The Swamp Fox was some of the best hotel food I have found in all my travels. This is a hotel I am looking forward to visiting again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Myrtle Beach, SC

Great location

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and location
Cons: Rooms are very small. Two chairs would be nice.
Location: Centrally located in downtown Charleston
This hotel is located near the market and within walking distance of many good restaurants. The rooms are small and it lacks things like a refrigerator or microwave, but the location is the reason to choose it. There is parking which you must pay for , but it is not unreasonable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with good location

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Staff was friendly and professional. Concierges were knowledgeable and helpful. Good location and connected to Starbucks. Downside is slow elevators. I would stay here again and would recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Not a Bad Option

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Lobby area was nice, was more affordable than other hotels in the area.
Cons: The room amenities need updating. The bathroom was incredibly small and the door did not close/lock correctly.
Location: Close to King Street shopping, restaurants, and bars. Far from the battery, about a 40 minute walk.
The rooms definitely need updating, but the Francis Marion Hotel is a good option for those looking to save a few dollars on lodging that can easily be better spent at one of the phenomenal restaurants in the downtown area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southern california

Charleston SC

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Location was great with quick easy access to many things to do, shopping, food, walking tours, carriage rides, history.
Cons: I know they can't make the bathrooms bigger but that would be my only suggestion.
Location: Easy access to pubs, food, shopping, walking to historic places and close to tours or carriage rides.
Great location and nicely kept historic hotel. Parking was difficult due to college nearby but parking was available. Bathroom was very small but room was clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Campbell, CA

Great location in a historic hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: location and style
Cons: update rooms
Nice hotel, slightly old but still very nice. Enjoyed our stay here. We were a bit disappointed that the window did not open.