Ratings based on 922 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Very nice hotel

Posted Jan 24, 2017
I stayed here this past weekend. My only complaint was the room I booked was not as big as I thought. I did express this concern and they moved our room right away so I was very pleased. Would stay here again when I return to charleston
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brownstown, Michigan

Great historical hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Hotel was beautiful. Staff was very courteous and pleasant. Hotel is within walking distance to many great restaurants and shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

central location

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: A beautiful, old hotel and the access to the parking lot is a plus.
Cons: Sound proofing! The old windows did nothing to buffer the early morning traffic noise.
Location: The hotel was definitely in the center of things like King Street shopping, the Market district, etc.
We enjoyed walking to restaurants and tour destinations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Historic Hotel in Charleston

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Location was excellent and the room was a good size for two people. Very beautiful lobby area.
Cons: Self parking is in a garage about 100 yards down the street from the main entrance.
Location: The hotel is on the corner of Calhoun and King - right across from the College of Charleston, and next to shopping and restaurants. Great location.
We have stayed at the Francis Marion several times in the past 6 months while visiting our daughter at The College of Charleston. It is extremely convenient to the college (across the street) and right on King Street where all the action is in the Historic District (restaurants and shopping). We were very pleased with our "Deluxe Room" - great size and a nice sized bathroom. In previous stays, our bathroom was quite small. I would highly recommend going with a Deluxe room or above to get a larger bathroom. The Swamp Fox Restaurant is located in the hotel and is a great place to start your day with an excellent and tasty breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Everything. The ambiance is fabulous old elegant Charleston. I really felt like I was on vacation in my room.
Location: It is downtown Charleston. You cant get much better than that.
Excellent hotel. Beautiful, very helpful staff, lovely rooms... I would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Narragansett, RI

Road Trip

Posted Jan 7, 2017
We stopped at Charleston for a few days on our way to Florida for sightseeing, it did not disappointed. I strongly recommend staying at the Francis Marion Hotel. The hotel is charming and comfortable, located in the middle of everything that you will want to experience, and the best staff, friendly and knowledgeable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Visiting for a wedding

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Lobby and staff are great. Bathrooms are small and toilets are dated. No real drop off spot for valet and parking is mostly in the lot next door only.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Good proximity to downtown

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Very nice, an old granddaddy of of a hotel, high ceilings built in the 1920's neat lobby
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, elegant old hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Cons: Water in the shower, took a long time to get hot
I do not have time to do this. we had a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atl, ga

Posted Dec 24, 2016
The hotel is in a great location and is walking distance to shopping and restaurants. The staff was very friendly.