Ratings based on 2,876 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Cons: Rooms need major renovations - not up to current standards
We had requested a queen be added to our room. Two adults and our adult son had to make due with two double beds. Beds were very uncomfortable and too small. Bathroom amenities were unacceptable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017
The room was very small and the bathroom Needed updating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Francis Marion Charleston-Great Stay

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Nothng. A very classy Charleston hotel.
Location: See above
Our overnight stay in Charleston recently was accentuated by a very comfortable, and classy stay at the Francis Marion Hotel. The Francis Marion is conveniently located in the historic district of Charleston on King St. which is at the heart of Charleston's shopping and restaurant district. The older, yet classic property fits wonderfully in the Charleston vibe. The accomadations were roomy and very comfortable, with excellent front desk service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenville

Nice furnishings, small rooms, terrible plumbing

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Shower took 20 minutes to warm up at 11:00 pm in warm weather. Room would have been small for $60. Noise from wedding guest upstairs awoke me at 3:30 and 4:30 am preventing me from sleep in preparation for 7:30 am interview. Sounded like he or she was beating the wall and floors with a hammer and throwing firniture.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy!

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Location: College town. Not too much to do.
Pay for parking at twenty five per night was way too much considering the room rate. Noise of street, could hear people on street from 8th floor. Ice machine noisy. Bathroom was tiny and no vent fan. Requested two double beds received a queen. Bed dipped in middle. Five people checking and only one hotel personnel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from summwrville sc

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Expected way more from this hotel very disappointed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

weekend getaway

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Great location very close to all the shops on king street. Walking distance to market. At night took uber to restaurant bc had grandmothers on trip with us. Starbucks is on the corner of the hotel. Hotel has an adequate workout room and the hotel restaurant was good. Ask for a room on the top floors because the views are amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tega Cay, SC

In The Heart of Old Charleston

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Great Southern ambiance.
Cons: Size of bathrooms
Location: In the heart of downtown Charleston. Easy walk to just about anywhere.
The Francis Marion Hotel, named after the Revolutionary War "Swamp Fox," sits on the central square of downtown Charleston. On King Street, it's a great location from which to start your "wandering." The recently renovated hotel has a beautiful lobby, with its arrival counter staffed by helpful and welcoming staff. Rooms are large (except bathrooms), and now have plenty of electrical outlets for travelers' chargers, etc. Beds are comfortable, with plenty of very nice pillows. The restaurant is excellent, with breakfast, lunch and dinner all served in a grand Southern style. And, for those not wanting anything heavy, there's also a Starbuck's on site. Enjoy this hotel, as part of your "Old South" tour, vacation or business trip.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Temperature

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: The lobby is lovely.
Cons: The heating/cooling system could be improved.
Location: The location is great. It was close to great restaurants and not too far from the heart of the downtown historic area.
The temperature in the room was very difficult to manage. The hotel lobby was lovely. The hotel gives the impression of a high quality hotel. However, the room, granted we had a low cost, standard room, had a heating/cooling system reminiscent of a Motel 6. The heating/cooling system consisted of a room heater/cooler. It was either really hot or really cool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boulder CO

Great Location

Posted Jan 31, 2017
We were in town for a night and stayed here because of its great central location. I loved the fact that starbucks was on the ground floor, so didn't have to go too far looking for my morning java. The hotel is also surrounded by numerous eating options. We had a single room with two double beds, room was tight but was totally fine for one night. However the bathroom was probably the smallest one I've ever been in. Overall, the hotel is clean and perfectly fine for a short stay.