Ratings based on 2,689 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from philadelphia

Great location and stay. Would come back again

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Great location and service. Excellent service. Loved the place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washinton dc area

Very good location

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Location. Friendly staff. Beautiful view of sunrise and the city from our 6th floor window.
Cons: Less expensive parking fees and complimentary coffee to the Starbucks.
Location: Plenty of shopping, restaurants and tours. The College of Charleston is next door and Marion Square is across the street.
Very pleasant staff. Everything with check in went smoothly and as expected.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Vary convenient location. Very clean rooms. Excellent staff attention
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Batin Rouge

So convenient to sights, best restaurants, shoppin

Posted Aug 18, 2016
This hotel made us feel so welcome and comfortable that we didn't want to leave :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Small bathrooms with no ventilation,little to much carpet for me,not much amenities,or bar!!Good staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in the perfect location

Posted Aug 12, 2016
The hotel was comfortable, quiet, clean and in the middle of Charleston restaurants, stores and bars. Would stay there again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: location and room
Location: great spot
Execellent location, rooms where super comfortable, staff was great
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, but old & smelly

Posted Aug 2, 2016
We enjoyed staying at the Francis Marion. The staff for the most part was friendly. The breakfast buffet and service was not enjoyable. The coffee tasted like it had been burned, but when we tried to get new coffee, were told that we were wrong, it was just a French roast. The room was nice, however the elevator and hallways smelled terrible. we more than likely will not stay at the Francis Marion again unless updates are made and the moldy/old carpet smells are fixed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Great location, walking distance to everything!

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The excellent service. the staff is always attentive.
Cons: Have someone available in the Spa and Salon during normal business hours, including the weekends. We where looking forward to spa treatments.
Location: There is always things to do in Charlston. Great shopping, the best culinary offerings. Waling distance to shops and a great transit system.
We have stayed at the Francis Marion Hotel on several occasions. We will continue to stay there each time we are in Charleston.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was great. We walked everywhere we went

Posted Jul 28, 2016
We had a wonderful stay and the staff was great. We were able to walk, take the trolley or hire a bike taxi. It was a charming hotel that was clean and had the amenities we were looking for.