Ratings based on 2,569 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Perfect spot in the center of the city!!!

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: This hotel is very charming. The hotel lobby was so comfortable and inviting. At times we just relaxed in the lobby instead of going up to our room.
Cons: The only thing I would suggest to improve on would be the housekeeping. Extra toilet paper is always a must.
Location: Many things to do in the city.....shop till you drop, aquarium, harbor tour, carriage ride, walking tour...you name it!!
This hotel is very convenient located in the heart of the city but also to surrounding areas such as Mount Pleasant and Folly Beach. Although this our first time staying at this hotel, we have been going to Charleston since our son looked at the College of Charleston in 2012. The use of the parking garage for hotel guests was wonderful, we had in and out access, and never had to worry about finding a parking space on the street. The available texting to the front desk was another convenient feature. I would highly recommend this hotel to those visiting the Charleston area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte,NC

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Liked that you can communicate via text with hotel staff
Lovely room. Bathroom was too small, took a long time to get hot water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing weekend, but...

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, service, price
Cons: Bathrooms, updating
Location: Rarebit for cocktails!! Free walking tours.
We had the best time in Charleston - hotel is in perfect location and their staff was so helpful in making recommendations, making sure we had good umbrellas, cleaning the room, etc. GREAT service! The hotel is just old so walls are thin and you hear your neighbors. Also our bathroom drain was rusty (bathroom was small), and everything in the room just felt old and worn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Space. The bathroom is very tight.
Nice Hotel but it was extremely small with few amenities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Lovely hotel and staff. However my room was located where you were kept awake every night by kitchen noise and hammering. Not very restful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel conveniently located in Charleston.

Posted Jan 31, 2016
The staff was beyond helpful and courteous. We loved the lobby for comfort and conversation. The rooms were charming and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Havertown, PA

Great old hotel in the action

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Staff, location
Location: Tons to eat and visit nearby
This hotel is in the middle of a trend in Charleston toward new and innovative shopping and food. Very easy to get to and park at. Friendly staff and adequate rooms (older hotel). I'd stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

old charm in new world

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Great place to stay. Big but still personal, old charme in modern world, we loved every minute, will be back
Cons: all was great
Location: restaurants and bars, shops close by, walking distance
Beautiful old hotel, nicely maintained, great staff, helpful and friendly, Close to everything
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny,ny

NiceNice hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2016
The lobby reminded me of an old fashioned but charming hotel. The room was adequate but clean. The complaints about size of bathroom were overblown. The hotel was a long walk from many of sights and restaurants and I would not recommend it to anyone who has difficulty in walking. All in all, a good place to stay for a long weekend in Charleston
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In the center of everything m

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Wonderful hotel. Best service I have experienced in a while. The staff goes the extra mile. You can walk to everything!! Excellent shopping and dining.