Ratings based on 2,671 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was great. We walked everywhere we went

Posted Jul 28, 2016
We had a wonderful stay and the staff was great. We were able to walk, take the trolley or hire a bike taxi. It was a charming hotel that was clean and had the amenities we were looking for.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: King street shops, restaurants, and farmers market. Liberty square is within walking distance, as is Rainbow Row.
We had a great experience at the Francis Marion - great location, friendly staff! Would definitely recommend to others for a weekend getaway in Charleston, SC!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by Gary, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate having you as our guest and you feedback. I am so happy you enjoyed your time at our hotel and with our team. I do hope we get to see you again at the Francis Marion. Thanks for being part of our family!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

At the Heart of Charleston

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Helpful and friendly staff, clean and well maintained facilities, historic charm, very convenient to the city
Cons: In a perfect world they would have built bigger bathrooms back in the 1930s- now they are small and changing would ruin the historic value of the room
Location: Everything. Shops and restaurants up, many many more down. Walk to the battery. A beautiful park across the street. Too much for three days, stay five
My wife and I love historic hotels and cities which makes the Francis Marion Hotel such a great choice for seeing downtown Charleston. We received a great deal on the stay and were delighted to find it would have held it's value at full price. Some highlights: - Well maintained and beautiful historic hotel right smack in the middle of King Street -Very attentive and helpful staff, great service at all times -The Swamp Fox restaurant was surprisingly good -Comfortable standard room with amazingly comfortable bed...one of the best I've slept on! Other reviews mentioned the small bathrooms; they are small, though ours was very clean and functional. My wife and I agreed that if you were less comfortable while sharing a room with another person the small restroom could be an issue. For us it was not. The room made up for it with it's charm and the great staff kept everything so clean and neat. A quick note about the Swamp Fox- we really enjoyed the convenience of the restaurant and found their staff to be very attentive and friendly. The menu was less innovative than many others in the area but their food was very good and reasonably priced. For a hotel restaurant I was impressed. If you are wanting to walk around and shop downtown Charleston you really should look at this hotel. It is near many great shops and eateries and we were very happy for the week we stayed there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Gary , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for being our guest. We are always happy to hear form our guests and I am thrilled that you enjoyed our historic hotel. We work hard to preserve our history and be helpful to our guests. I do hope we get to see you again in the future and welcome your back to Charleston!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Great location

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: The staff and location
Cons: Bathrooms are a bit small and antiquated
Location: Charleston is great fro shopping and food
Staff was great service excellent and hotel is in a great place
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2016 by Gary, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay. I am very happy to see that your found our staff to provide such great service. Our bathrooms to harken back to our historic nature but we are always looking for ways to improve them. Thank you again for being our guest and we hope to welcome you back to Charleston!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Great location. The hotel was beautiful. The bathroom were too small and could use alitlle updating
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2016
Pros: Location
Extremely convenient to the things you want to see and a wide variety of restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

First Anniversary Trip to Charleston

Posted May 25, 2016
We had a great stay at our first anniversary trip in Charleston. Staff is very friendly, rooms are very clean,bathrooms are a little small but get the job done for the age of the hotel, and VERY comfortable bed! It was a great surprise when they brought us delicious chocolate covered strawberries, candied pecans, and a "happy anniversary" note...they were delicious!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Nice lobby, central location

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Cons: let the guest know of availability of a larger bathroom
Location: central location
Parking next door on arrival was easy. Busy intersection the hotel is located,noisy. Good size room at high floor, nice view. Bathroom size of a small closet, inconvenient. Not sure if I will stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by William from Boston

Decent location Clean Expensive for what you get

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
Beware run of the house room selection. King room was tiny. Bathroom old and little to no counterspace.