Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jo-Dee from Charlotte, NC

lovely inn in a perfect location

Posted Jul 17, 2013
we stayed at the Governor's house inn for our very first trip to Charleston. It was a great experience. The staff is extremely kind and hospitable. Very much enjoyed the complimentary ice tea and cocktail hour of wine and nibbles. The breakfast was excellent. We brought our own bikes to explore the town. They had bikes of their own but they were being refurbished so we were happy we brought our own. Only two cautions. If you are allergic to cats, you should know they have a very sweet old and friendly cat named New..and our only disappointment was with the shower... they really need to install a flow regulator. Not everyone enjoys fire hose type pressure.. my husband said he felt like a protester being sprayed... and this caused the drain to not be able to keep up. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay very much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from London

Grandeur maintained

Posted May 16, 2013
Pros: The private verandah, the green of the garden and inn cat
Cons: Breakfast was disappointing by the standards of other inns we stayed in in the region.
Location: Excellent An easy walk to good restaurants ,snack bars and the mos note resting historically significant part of town
A wonderful spacious suite with its own insect proofed outside sitting area was all that we could have asked for. The main house is a listed building furnished in a sympathetic period style that wors well. The main verandah was a pleasant place to sit for a very good afternoon tea (and generous glass of wine). Another nice touch was the decanter full of pretty reasonabl sherry that was always accessible. With good parking an within easy walking distance of the centre of town this was a good base for the first to tourist in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by d-2

Wonderful getaway in the heart of Charleston

Posted May 7, 2013
Pros: It was a slice of history that perfectly represented the city of Charleston.
Location: It is located within walking distance of mostly everything.
My wife and I are expecting twins and were looking for a place to celebrate our last hurrah 'til we excitedly welcome our twins. We could not have picked a more wonderful place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

New Years Eve in Charleston

Posted Jan 2, 2013
Pros: Tea time and location
Cons: Nothing.
Great location, could walk to everything we wanted to do. Excellent service. While I agree the breakfasts are "small" compared to some B&Bs, I thought they were perfect in that I wasn't overly stuffed and was hungry at lunch time appropriately. Thus, I thought the portions were perfect size. The only slight downer was I picked the room specifically for the fireplace which was broken during our stay. Lots of other working fireplaces in the common rooms. Cozy rooms and loved tea time in the afternoon. Very nice off street parking lot with easy turn around drive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great B&B for a weekend getaway

Posted Nov 6, 2012
My wife and I had never been to Charleston and we wanted to see the city. The B&B was right in the center of things. Staff was knowledgeable and attentive. We also learned a lot from the other guests on what visit and where to dine. Breakfast was superb as was the high tea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Perfect for a romantic getaway

Posted Aug 14, 2012
Would go again any time! Recommended for adults and older children. Very elegant and lots of stairs not good for small ones or the elderly. Food was wonderful. Staff very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Linda from Cumbria, UK

A very special place to stay

Posted Apr 18, 2012
Pros: The friendly staff who made our stay very special and all the home cooked food served at breakfast and afternoon tea.
Cons: There weren't any.
Location: The location couldn't be better for either shopping, sight seeing or just exploring all the beautiful streets nearby.
This hotel is within walking distances of all the places of interest and good restaraunts and even the main shopping area. The house itself is beautiful and the very friendly staff cater to your every request and make you feel very welcome. We were able to meet some very nice people at breakfast, served in the beautiful dining room, and the delicious afternoon teas on the verandah. We went on the water taxi to The Yorktown at Patriots Point which was very interesting. The harbour tour is also very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Loved our stay at the Governors House Inn!

Posted Nov 30, 2011
The Governors House Inn is historic and beautiful. We were in the Laurens room. The porch areas were wonderful (it helps that we were there in the fall with perfect weather and temperatures). The staff were friendly and helpful, and the location was great. We parked the car at the inn and didn't get in it again until we left to head home. I wish we had taken advantage of afternoon tea time at the inn, but we were having so much fun about town that we missed it. Breakfast was very nice both mornings we were there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alexandria, VA

Delightful Lodging in Charleston

Posted Apr 3, 2011
You will love staying at the Governor's House. The staff is first rate, the breakfast is wonderful, the evening wine and appetizer spread is a treat, and the place is as comfortable as it gets -- you will feel like you are right at home. Our needs were attended to with courtesy and the staff takes the time to help make your visit to Charleston enjoyable and memorable. Our room was very comfortable, though the bathroom is getting a bit dated and would benefit from upgraded fixtures and renovation, everything was functional and the room was kept clean. The mattress was very comfortable. The location is perfect for exploring Charleston on foot. The parking on site makes it easy to use your car when you need it knowing parking will not be a problem when you return. We just loved this place and would definitely stay there again the next time we visit Charleston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Awesome place to stay!

Posted Nov 20, 2010
This was the perfect place to stay to celebrate our anniversary. I can't imagine any other way to experience Charleston than to stay in a historic home like this one! The staff was incredible and helped us with every step of our trip - from suggesting what to do to making dinner reservations for us. We parked there and walked everywhere - didn't have to use the car the entire stay - great location! Loved it!!!