Ratings based on 318 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location for a grand Charleston experience

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Fine old charm and character with a very warm and professional staff
Cons: Wish we could stay longer
Location: All modes of enjoying the town are available within a very short walk
Fine staff, super service, well cared for rooms, central to the old town.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great location, breakfast and staff

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Friendly staff, great location within walking distance of the river, very nice wine and cheese in the afternoon and a great variety of items for breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C.C., Texas

Charming hotel in heart of Charleston

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: I liked the location, the staff, the indoor and outdoor dining/chatting areas, and the old world feel of the hotel.
Cons: There weren't enough plugs in the room for my husband and I to recharge our devices. A long surge protector would fix the problem.
Location: Location is great. Market across the street, three blocks from the Miracle Mile, walk in any direction to see beautiful colonial homes and churches.
The Inn is across the street from a lovely market, where locals sell their handmade baskets and are eager to chat about the process and reeds used. We were also just three blocks from Charleston's Miracle Mile, a fun place to walk, dine, and shop. Interested in colonial housing, this is the place to stay. Walk in any direction and you're sure to be pleased with what you see. All in all, we had a wonderful time. Oh, breakfast is from 7-10 every morning. The food is great and the dining atmosphere conducive to meeting new people. It's just a fun place to visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C CT

Great location, beautiful, charming inn.

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Location: Wonderful location right in the middle of everything. Parking is two blocks away but I once we parked our car we didn't need it until we checked out.
Nice comfortable room. Antique furniture throughout. Wine and cheese at 5 provides guests an opportunity to meet and share tips on the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location to explore the city on foot.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Loved the location, the afternoon reception, the front lobby personnel from the front counter to those who served the refreshments for the reception and morning continental breakfast. Only complaint is the cleaning staff young lady named Jasmine (I think that was her name) banged on our door at 8:30 am. First time we thought she had the wrong room. Then she came back and banged again. I opened the door and told her we had been out late the night before on a tour and were taking our time. She said we should have put the do not disturb sign on the door. We replied we don't have one. She said she would get us one and then didn't. Do not know what her hurry was to clean our room since breakfast was being served and check out was 11:00 am. Other than this no complaints. Again everyone else was very nice and accommodating. Great place and though old and a bit worn, would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

A wonderful place to stay!!

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: The hotel was quaint and the terrace was very relaxing
Cons: We were happy with everything!!
Location: It was central to everything. We walked everywhere!!
The room was beautiful and very comfortable!! The staff was friendly and accommodating. We would return if we ever vacation here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Best Place in Town

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Being budget-minded -- after all, a hotel room for us is just a place to sleep and shower -- we looked hard at all the hotels in downtown Charleston. An typical night's stay? $300-400, or more. Wow. So, when I came across the listing for the Meeting Street Inn and saw its rates, I paid attention. The photos looked quaint, although some might equate that to meaning it looked old. The inn's location seemed good -- to someone who had never been to the city before. They had Wi-Fi. Also mandatory. Breakfast included. Well, I've run across a full gamut of "breakfasts" in our travels, so that could mean anything. When we got there, the place was indeed quaint but in all the best ways, like in a Victorian bed-and-breakfast, with 40+ rooms. The room was clean. The bed was among the most comfortable I've slept in while traveling. The bathroom was totally updated and clean. No trouble using the Wi-Fi and excellent connections and speed. Breakfast included a hot course, fresh fruit and muffins, and much more. Really quite good, befitting the culinary reputation of the city. The staff was friendly and very helpful. But the best part? The location. The corner of Meeting Street and Market is basically the heart of the downtown Charleston and within walking distance of most major attractions. We absolutely loved this place and will return.
Cons: Parking was off-site, although not far, and cost extra. That, in itself, wasn't so bad, but I had seen nothing about that online, so it came as a surprise.
Location: As mentioned above, the location is ideal for a visit to Charleston. You are within blocks of the city's best restaurants and upscale shopping.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Noisy& needs a good clean

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Good location near everything I wanted to see.......................
Cons: It was noisy all three nights, the last two I couldn't sleep because the sheets on the bed had something that made me itch. So I spent a miserable two nights
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Great location. Close to so many things.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Location. Treatment from the staff was excellent. The rooms were very clean.
We had a great stay and the staff was great. We will return to this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hilton Head, SC

Old "motel"; needs work, but good location.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Modernization
Location: Too many to list.
Tiny TV, B&B - not; breakfast marginal; remote parking lot; not very classy.