Ratings based on 1,085 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Perfect location in Charleston!

Posted Jul 26, 2016
We came to Charleston to visit our son who has recently moved to the area and selected the Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel because of reasonable prices and location. The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel is walking distance from the Charleston Straw Market, King Street and many fantastic restaurants. The staff is so accommodating and friendly. We will definitely being staying here on all of our visits.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando

One Nighter

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Location Amenities Rooms
Cons: Free Valet Parking in garage next door for $20. OK to pay $20....
Location: Historic District close to the Battery and Slave Market.
Stopover on a road trip to visit an Old Friend. Everything is Good about the Mills House including a location in the Historic District. Definitely up to Wyndham standards. Only negative - unloading and parking. Get a Bellboy to navigate from Parking Garage ($20) to check in.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

WEDDING DISASTER

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: The staff was very accommodating and the pool was kept well stocked with clean towels. Housekeeping always came early to straighten the bed.
Cons: clean the room a little better and make sure the tub is washed daily.
Location: lots of places to eat and loads to do.
We were in Charleston to attend our daughter's wedding. Upon our arrival, everything seemed to go well until we entered our room(Rm.638). The room had a very musty smell and we called down to housekeeping to spray the room with air freshner. They made an attempt to clear out the mustiness. I ended up buying Fabreeze to spray in the room. On the day of our daughter's wedding, we spent a leisurely morning at the pool. At approximately 3pm, I went back to the room to prepare myself. I turned on the water and stepped in without looking. I started screaming when I saw that the water coming out of the faucet was dark murky brownish black!!! Imagine my dilemma to see that I had brown dirty water in my hair!! I called to the front desk and was informed that the hotel had to shut down the water because of some city ordinance to clear out the pipes. Why were we not told of this prior to it happening? I was hollering holy hell as I was now in a full blown panic. I was told to let the water run for about 15 minutes, as the water had been turned back on. Well I did that for 25 minutes and still had nothing but BROWN DIRTY WATER. I was forced to wash my hair in the sink and take a "cat bath", in order to get clean!! Both my husband and I had to wash up in the bathroom sink. I was extremely flustered by this, as it delayed us . My husband called the front desk and told them to send someone upstairs immediately to clean out that filthy tub. We were not pleased.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IL

Great location, beautiful lobby

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Great location, beautiful lobby, super nice staff but bathrooms need updated. I would stay here again, though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bermuda

Nice hotel with lots of charm!!

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Location of this hotel is hard to beat! Lobby is very quaint with lots of Southern Charm.
Hotel is very central, within walking distance to Charleston's best restaurants and shopping. Room was comfortable and clean but bathroom could use some updating. Received some conflicting information from front desk staff about recommendations for eating and also directions. Ended up using my IPad for correct information!! Services offered by Business Centre are very limited. I tried to send a courier package out only to be be advised by Front Desk staff that I would have to call the courier company for pick up. Ended up walking to the nearest UPS store to sort it out myself. Also, nearest drug store is a half hour walk away from hotel. Did order room service one morning and the service was very slow and food mediocre.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Great place to stay in Charleston - Good location

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Great smell when you walk in - adds to the Charleston mysitque
Great hotel - This was our 2nd stay. Good location to see all of Charleston All staff were excellent representatives of the hotel, particularly Valet and Concierge
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ohio

Great location to Market and restaurants.

Posted Jun 17, 2016
Pros: Location and pool
Location: Daily market and special market on Sat. Nights, daily church services, carriage ride, harbor tours....
Perfect location to walk or take free trolley. Used Uber to get to and from plantation. Great food including seafood, bbcue, Irish pubs, dueling piano bar and much more.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glendive, Montana

Nicer than expected & close to historic district

Posted Jun 2, 2016
We came at a slow time so got a lower rate. Now that I know how nice the hotel is, I will return if come to Charleston in the future. Having to pay for parking was not great, but the valet was very helpful and suggested we use the parking garage if we were going to leave the car parked most of our visit (which was beyond checkout), or they would be happy to park and deliver but more expensive.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

Perfect Hotel

Posted May 31, 2016
The Mills House is the perfect place to stay in Charleston. It is within walking distance to the battery, restaurants, shops- just about everything. Rooms were clean and nicely decorated. Staff and concierge were very helpful and friendly. Will definitely return for my next visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SJ, CA.

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Front desk staff could be a little more friendly.
Location: Central location within walking distance of historic section of town.
Front desk staff (@ check-in) was not a happy bunch. No hello, how are you doing or anything close to that.