Ratings based on 1,102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Beautiful and charming hotel in a central location

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Our stay at The Mills House Wyndham Grand Hotel was fantastic. It is an elegant hotel located in a perfect location. We were able to walk to most locations as well as to the free trolley when needed. The staff was friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay at The Mills House when visiting Charleston again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice hotel close to nice restsurant

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Location is perfect for eather sightseeing and meal.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2016
WE have used this hotel on numerous occasions when we visit Charleston. It is centrally located and within walking distance of just about everything. I my mind the great beauty about Charleston is the sights one sees on walking around. You will see something different every time you are there. The sights are a bonus during the day, when the sun goes down you will not be disappointed in the extraordinary choices of restaurants available to you. It is a magical place full of history and culture.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Amazing Experience!!

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: The views from the room are breathtaking. They provided us everyday with water bottles (free of charge) which was very good at this time of the year
Cons: Some snacks or a vending machine on the floor with snacks would be great.
Location: First, this hotel is located just in the historic area of Charleston. We only needed transportation for the airport and the plantations.
The staff was always friendly and helpful. The beds and the A/C were amazingly comfortable. Amazing decor!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C. Dallas Tx

Very nice hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Charleston is not what I expected! Everything closes early, streets are dark, nothing to do at night! Just restaurants. Even those become scarce past 9pm in many areas. The Magnolia plantation tour was very disappointing. Run down and not like the pics in brochure. The nature tram ride was a joke with a ride thru a forest with tons of broken tree limbs and a green swamp. I will take Asheville North Carolina anytime! The Biltmore Mansion is an amazing tour, the city is vibrant at night and the forests and nature is just beautiful. Charleston, for such a visited city in the world -you have allot of clean up to do, get those streets lighted, have more things to do for tourists and dont close everything at 5pm. We are on vacation- we want to stroll, have entertainment, have options.. Not, look in all the closed stores or go sit in a hotel room with not much to do. Lastly, those poor horses that pull a carriage with about 20 people crammed in. 1 horse per carriage. They looked so tired and sad. Do they ever go to a field and get free time? Boo Charleston! Yeah Asheville! The only complaint of Asheville- airfare too high vs Charleston. Hotels too high in Ashevile vs Charleston comparing room to room luxury and weekend rates. Many low end hotels in Asheville were ridiculously priced for what you get. Shop and book early.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Solon, IA

Staff is top notch and location is perfect!

Posted Aug 14, 2016
The staff was very welcoming and extremely polite. One gentleman in particular at the front desk was the absolute nicest and always had a smile on his face. I called at 12pm to see if we could check in early by chance, and to my surprise, our room was ready. Housekeeping was on point everyday to clean our room and would always come back in the afternoon to ask if we needed ice or anything else. Location couldn't have been any better, everything we needed was within walking distance. We will definitely stay here next time we are in Charleston.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Had a wonderful stay

Posted Aug 13, 2016
The hotel is beautiful and the location is perfect. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff was especially friendly and helpful. I will stay here for sure if I ever return to Charleston and would recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Beautiful restoration
Cons: larger pool area. more umbrellsa
booked hotel on line, nicer in person. Had not known anyone who had stayed there before. I would definitely go back again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from miami

Best location and glamorous architecture

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Best location walk to everywhere, excellent service at front desk, nice pool, cute balcony and clean room. Very very pretty hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel centrally located.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Cons: Hotel staff attitude. Valet parking should be done quickly, car should not be left on street for hours. Should not reply that public parking is cheap.
Location: Great restaurants, sight seeing and attractions within walking distance.
Nice hotel. Clean and open. Great pool area and patio areas.