Ratings based on 1,135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Great Location, Historical Building

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Hotel was clean and is in the middle of the action. You are within a 10 minute walk of anything you'd want to do. The turndown service was a very nice touch that included straightening of the bed/bath and putting ice in the ice bucket. Staff was very willing to help and give suggestions upon request. It's got a little gift shop full of souvenirs, snacks and sundry items. The hotel bar is a nice spot and the drinks were pretty reasonably priced.
Cons: There's no real way of getting around it...the rooms are small. This building was built before the Civil War. So, each of the rooms now has a closet and bathroom in what was just a square room. That doesn't leave a lot of area for extras. However, who cares...you don't go to Charleston to stay in your hotel room. The shower was a little out of date and had a unsightly access panel in the ceiling of the bathroom. Saturday, the hotel was hosting a wedding reception, so the hotel bar and much of the first floor were off limits. They do have a second bar, but it's small and limited selection.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Camp Hill, PA

Location and charm

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Ambiance and character of the hotel.
This hotel was perfectly located to many restaurants, city market and the Harbor. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The hotel had history and character which I really enjoyed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Wonderful hotel in the heart of Charleston.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Beautiful hotel in the heart of the historic district of Charleston. Within walking distance of all tours, fine dining and shopping. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great bar and courtyard for afternoon cocktails!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alton, United States of America

Historic charm

Posted Oct 21, 2016
The Mills House is an historic hotel with charming and beautiful public spaces, up-to-date amenities, and comfortable rooms. It's perfectly located for visiting the historic district of Charleston.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Braintree, United States of America

Wonderful Hotel!

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Beautiful old hotel in the perfect location. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: It is close to shopping, restaurants, the market place, and many galleries and museums.
This hotel was lovely! You cannot beat the location-central to everything. The restaurant food was great- we had breakfast daily in the court yard and drinks and appetizers in the evenings. The service was impeccable. We had no complaints and would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel convenient location.

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Appearance and location.
Cons: The sound of a motor generator running throughout the night was problematic.
Location: Conveniently located and an easy walk to attractions, shopping and restaurants.
The hotel was lovely and located in a great part of the city. Our rooms were clean, staff was very helpful and courteous. The outside court yard was a very nice place for breakfast or a cocktail. Our only complaint was the noise at night continued to wake us, sounded like a generator running off and on throughout the night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel and staff were excellent 😊Would definitely

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: Everything❤️
Location: Location excellent ❤️
Excellent 👍We had never been here before knew nothing about hotel except what we saw and read on site! We were thrilled when we arrived and saw the beauty of the hotel👍The staff was so helpful and knowledgeable😊Every part of the hotel was immaculate 👍 We were sorry to leave early because of hurricane Matthew ✈️
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Beautiful Hotel and perfect location

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: love everything but I loved that it was close to everything in downtown, you can walk everywhere
It was great! the staff is very nice.. the installation and decor and everything is nice.. rooms are cozy... didn't try the food but there was a lot of people eating in the hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plymouth Meeting, Pa

Great location with historic feel

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Location, atmosphere and historic value. complimentary refreshing water with fruit daily.
Location: Great location, near restaurants, the market and shopping.
This hotel offers a great location with the historic feel. Restaurant is very good, brunch on Sunday very nice. Best Friends bar has a nice atmosphere, GREAT MUSIC. We stayed for a long weekend over restaurant week.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Petersburg

Great Location

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Location: Restaurants, shopping, historic sites
The hotel is well located within easy walking distance to many fine restaurants, shopping, and historic sites. The staff is friendly and very helpful. It is a great place to stay for a fun Charleston weekend.