Ratings based on 1,157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel but rooms need face lift

Posted Dec 2, 2016
If you are looking for modern rooms, go elsewhere.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great Hotel close to everything!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Great, coming back!walking distance to restaurants, historic area! Love the decor of the hotel!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, FL

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Beautiful hotel in great location but the rooms could use some updating.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful hotel in a perfect location

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: The hotel is very convenient to all local attractions, shopping, and dining. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. If we stay in downtown Charleston again, we would definitely choose the Mills House.
Cons: Nothing, no complaints whatsoever, we would choose this hotel again without question.
Location: It is perfectly located to all local attractions, shopping and dining.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great Hotel great Location

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: The Service from the staff was great. The location was in the middle of everything that we wanted to see and do. The majority of places we went to were in walking distance.
Cons: The bathroom didnt have a vent fan or a door that had a lock on it (that could kill the romance on a couples trip on a privacy factor). The room was smaller than expected but we didnt spend much time in it anyways.
Location: We will return to the Mills House next visit. it was pretty central to all we wanted to do and see.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tulsa, OK

Great Location, Historical Building

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Hotel was clean and is in the middle of the action. You are within a 10 minute walk of anything you'd want to do. The turndown service was a very nice touch that included straightening of the bed/bath and putting ice in the ice bucket. Staff was very willing to help and give suggestions upon request. It's got a little gift shop full of souvenirs, snacks and sundry items. The hotel bar is a nice spot and the drinks were pretty reasonably priced.
Cons: There's no real way of getting around it...the rooms are small. This building was built before the Civil War. So, each of the rooms now has a closet and bathroom in what was just a square room. That doesn't leave a lot of area for extras. However, who cares...you don't go to Charleston to stay in your hotel room. The shower was a little out of date and had a unsightly access panel in the ceiling of the bathroom. Saturday, the hotel was hosting a wedding reception, so the hotel bar and much of the first floor were off limits. They do have a second bar, but it's small and limited selection.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Camp Hill, PA

Location and charm

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Ambiance and character of the hotel.
This hotel was perfectly located to many restaurants, city market and the Harbor. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The hotel had history and character which I really enjoyed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Wonderful hotel in the heart of Charleston.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Beautiful hotel in the heart of the historic district of Charleston. Within walking distance of all tours, fine dining and shopping. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great bar and courtyard for afternoon cocktails!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alton, United States of America

Historic charm

Posted Oct 21, 2016
The Mills House is an historic hotel with charming and beautiful public spaces, up-to-date amenities, and comfortable rooms. It's perfectly located for visiting the historic district of Charleston.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Braintree, United States of America

Wonderful Hotel!

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Beautiful old hotel in the perfect location. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: It is close to shopping, restaurants, the market place, and many galleries and museums.
This hotel was lovely! You cannot beat the location-central to everything. The restaurant food was great- we had breakfast daily in the court yard and drinks and appetizers in the evenings. The service was impeccable. We had no complaints and would stay there again.