Ratings based on 835 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
My very short stay was wonderful, the bed was very comfortable n I slept great. Watching the sunrise while sipping coffee from my view was so peaceful . The staff was very friendly, kind n helpful. I plan a longer stay next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2015 by The Palms Management, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon! I am so glad to see that we exceeded your expectations during your visit with us. This is nothing better than watching the sunrise over the ocean from the balcony, while having your morning coffee, and I am glad that you were able to experience that! Thank you for the kind words about the staff, as they are all great at what they do. We hope you have your next trip planned!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Suzanne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by nancy from Cape Cod

On the seaside of isle of palms.

Posted Oct 10, 2015 on Hotels
Great after the big rain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2015 by The Palms Management, Hotel Management
Greetings Nancy, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us! I am so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay, despite all of the rain that we had! We hope that you were able to dry out and relax while you were here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Joaquin

Posted Oct 8, 2015 on Hotels
Rained rained. Had to move once because was coming through ceiling. Joaquin!!!! We were moved. Ok after that. Some storm. Nice breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2015 by The Palms Management, Hotel Management
Good Evening, Thank you for taking the time to fill out this review. I apologize for the inconvenience of having to move rooms; but I hope that you were able to get settled in the new room and had a chance to relax and enjoy the beach. We hope that you come check us out again, and hope that it will be a nice and sunny day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Searcy AR

Close to beach

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Beach great, hotel older & needs good cleaning. Location good & easy to get to attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2015 by The Palms Management, Hotel Management
Greetings P, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. I am happy to tell you that we recently complete the first round of room deep cleans, which has significantly improved the cleanliness in all of the rooms. I am happy to see that you enjoyed the location and convenience of the Isle of Palms, and hope you stay with us if you return to the area!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Hotel is wonderful. Carol at the front desk is super helpful and very kind.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2015 by The Palms Management, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon, Thank you for sharing your 5 star review with us! I am so happy to see that you enjoyed your visit, and will pass on the kind words to Carol - she is the best!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
We had an issue with housekeeping, but management more than made up for the deficiency. We will return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2015 by The Palms Management, Hotel Management
Greetings, I want to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have had with our housekeeping department. I want you to know that we now have a new housekeeping manager, who is moving that department in the right direction! I hope that you were still able to enjoy your stay with us, and hope to see you again soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

$150.00 deposit for what?

Posted Oct 1, 2015
First off we got there at 1:00 pm check in not till 4, however, front desk person said "give us an hour we'll call you when the room is ready" cool well two hours later no call go back in just to know they just gave my room to someone else LOL then they tell you 1 hour more if I wouldn't have already paid I would have left . Then they have a strict policy of A hundred fifty dollar deposit is a joke. Also parking is $7.00 a day. The rooms are outdated and the refrigerator was gross had frost build up and looked like someone had put ice cream in it but forgot about it and then staff took out but forgot to clean it. Partial ocean view a joke really they should just say a room with a window. Wouldn't go back least not there Hotel just down looked better. Area is awesome will go back to Island just won't stay at The Palms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2015 by The Palms Management, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We strive to exceed all our guest's expectations, and I apologize that we fell short. I'm so sorry that there was a mix-up getting you checked in early; that is unacceptable. We also try to get everyone checked into their room as soon as we can. The security deposit is becoming more popular throughout the hospitality industry. It's main purpose is to detour any guest from damaging the property. I am happy to inform you that we have made quite a few changes since your stay, including: a brand new elevator, deep clean and preventative maintenance in all of the rooms, and a staff training program that address the issues you listed above. We hope you will stop by to see all these changes!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maureen T.

Wonderful place to stay

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Orbitz
The Palms Hotel was a great place for our vacation. We loved being in a quiet area away from the city, but close enough to go enjoy what Charleston had to offer. The hotel could definitely use a little updating & sprucing up, but overall we very much enjoyed it. The staff was very friendly & helpful with area suggestions and we loved the 24 hours a day coffee. Although there was no gym, we really enjoyed being able to jog and walk the beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Always read reviews, first.

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Found long hairs on the walls of the shower Maintenance and cleanliness seems to be an afterthought. We had a multiple night stay and on the first morning housekeeping came by before 9:30, we advised them we were leaving shortly and would be gone all day. They said they would come back but never did for the remainder of our stay. Continental breakfast was only danishes, fruit, yogurt, bagels, cereals and toast... no hot food. Pancake/waffle maker was not working and only eggs available were hard-boiled (and refrigerated). Coffee creamers seemed to be rationed as each morning they only had 2% milk out past 8:30 or 9. Weird thing was each morning they had fresh set of individual creamers early, but those disappeared later in the morning. One of the worst places we have stayed, even compared to international places that usually have less standards than US hotels.