Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay. Will be back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego CA

First trip to Charleston

Posted Mar 27, 2016
Pros: The staff is professional, friendly, and very helpful. Any special requests are acknowledged and taken care of immediately.
Location: The heart of downtown provides shopping, restaurants, and many Charleston historical attractions.
Lovely hotel located downtown within easy walking distance to many attractions and restaurants. Very nice, comfortable rooms. Rooms are very spacious and decorated with comfort in mind. This trip was a mother/daughter get away and our first visit to Charleston. The accommodations certainly made it enjoyable.
4 out of 5
by Lawrence W

Restored at Restoration

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
We were in town for a collegiate sporting event in Mt. Pleasant. Had never been to Charleston and wanted to stay close to downtown. The Restoration is in a great spot. Walking distance to C of C, restaurants, sight seeing, night life and shopping. Rooftop restaurant and bar are cool, but a bit loud for conversations and the hostess could use some etiquette and manners training. Good food and a small, but adequate, local craft beer selection - though Closed for Business on King St. had a larger craft brew selection. The front desk staff, concierge and valet were all extremely friendly, courteous and service oriented. We'd stay again.
5 out of 5
by Kevin from Columbia, SC

A beautiful getaway

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
We loved the Restoration so much, we stayed over an extra night. The setting is beautiful, built across buildings from 1840 through 1913. Service was excellent. The only caveat would be that the walls are thinner than the brick, so sound travels across easily - you could hear people walking and talking in other rooms and in the hall.
5 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Diana from Jacksonville

Great restoration

Posted Feb 2, 2016 on Hotels
Only thing missing is a coffee maker in the room - they have a coffee shop downstairs they would rather you use, but the coffee is very average
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

"Restoration under construction"

Posted Dec 7, 2015 on Hotels
Booked for 3 nights hoping for a great experience, was under construction, very loud, crowded, with no internet or TV service, checked out next day.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel. Don't stay on second floor.

Posted Dec 4, 2015
Pros: Everything but noise.
Cons: Insulation between rooms.
The only contemporary hotel we found in charleston is roomy, chocked full of amenities, and feels like home. Only problem is that if you stay anywhere other than the top floor it'll sound like elephants are parading above you. The staff was helpful and kindly moved us to the third floor after our first sleepless night. After that, it was one of the best experiences we've ever had.
5 out of 5
by Jeff G.

Awesome!

Posted Nov 24, 2015 on Orbitz
My wife and I were in town for an anniversary trip. Nothing special but I told her years ago I'd take her to Charleston one day. Well the hotel was just so phenomenal that she's now saving money so we can go again next year! They were in the middle of remodeling an extension to the hotel that will add some extra rooms, a restaurant and some other amenities. This should be completed by February 2016. Even with the construction going on we had an excellent time! The chocolate chip cookies in the evening were wonderful! Most of what we came there for was within walking distance including the Market Street Sweets store across the street. The room was just so spacious that my wife was amazed. She told me if she had the money she'd just buy a room at this hotel and stay there year round! I don't believe they offer that option, but if she hits the lottery I guess I'll be living in North Carolina by myself. She has NEVER raved this much about any hotel we've stayed in during our entire 27 years of marriage! She used the white noise machine every night and now I have to get her one for Christmas. The last thing that I heard she was calling everyone she knew and raving about the hotel. It was truly worth the experience. The only MINOR drawback was that as other reviewers noted you can hear people in other rooms walking around. I couldn't hear what they were saying, but I could hear them walking around. But this is an old building and given everything else, including the friendliness and can do attitude of the staff, that's the best I can come up with in terms of a criticism. It was truly a memorable experience!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Great location

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: Loved it
Cons: The cleanliness of the furniture
Location: great location, close to shops and restaurant's
The Restoration was great!!!! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Great location to shop and restaurant's. Loved the luxury one room suite. My only complaint about the room was the furniture. There was a lot of stains on the sofa and chair. If the hotel wants to be rated a five star hotel then they should really invest in some new furniture.